King's Highway Rest camp to FloJa campground - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

August 17, 2022

King's Highway Rest camp to FloJa campground

Sometimes it's good to take your time in the morning.  I actually got up early and enjoyed a sunrise from the beach.

Good morning
Heart 1 Comment 0
What's not to love?! A cold drink (not diet coke, but close), sitting in my chair, watching the sun paint beautiful pictures in the sky. Peaceful and relaxing!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

As I was packing up and getting ready to leave, a crazy wind and rain storm rolled through so I delayed my departure a bit longer.  Didn't get on the road until about 10:00am, but I only had 30 miles to go.  Despite that, it was a good day on the bike.  Something that I hadn't been feeling lately.  I played my Corey Hart playlist of music to make things even better.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Storm clouds on the way?
Heart 0 Comment 0

I do think winter is over in Africa.  It was in the mid 80's today and very hot and humid, especially after this morning's storm.  I had some unexpected hills to climb as well, but nothing too bad.

I'm camped next to the lake and get to visit a preschool with 100 kids tomorrow.  I'm the only one here except for the owner and security.  The guy here runs a foundation/preschool and I did have a nice chat with him.  He assured me the water would be warm for my shower.  It wasn't.  Another couple who camped here a few years ago said the same thing.  I think he likes to tell us it will be hot, but it was barely warm.  It would have been better if I would have showered immediately, but he didn't even let me get settled at all before talking up a storm about his foundation.  (His wife initially ran it to, but they ended up divorcing and she moved back to Europe.  Although her idea, he decided to stay and run the foundation.)  It was nice to hear the stories and he did bring me a cold drink, but it was a bit much on arrival.  I did go up and visit with him again later once I was settled and that was enjoyable. 

Although the gardens and grass were nice, the grass was uneven and there were a bunch of little flying bugs hanging out in the grass so I opted for the level, sand pitch. Didn't want bugs in my tent!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

 

Today's ride: 34 miles (55 km)
Total: 3,880 miles (6,244 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0