Choma to Chisekesi (Mayfair Guest House) - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

July 5, 2022

Choma to Chisekesi (Mayfair Guest House)

Apparently my debit MasterCard doesn’t want to work in Zambia.  Tried at FNB bank where it’s been working throughout my trip, but no cash in Zambia.  Switched over to my Visa card and withdrew some kwacha no problem.  By the time that was done I was officially on the road at 8:30 AM.

 Another day, another day of headwinds.  But today the sun was shining.  I actually didn’t need my jacket this morning which is the first morning in a while.  I knew today would have a downhill trend and I was not disappointed.  I actually had a good downhill run, something that I haven’t had for a while. But the wind, darn thing is always there trying to push me back.  

I didn’t take my first break for 20 miles which is unusual for me, but I was waiting to get to a town.  I stopped at a store that had a picnic table out front.  Got a couple cold drinks and a snack and sat at the table taking longer than normal break to give my legs a rest.  I almost felt like I was watching a comedy show.  The village was full of chaos everywhere I looked.  Cows were trying to cross the road and the trucks were honking at them.  They were unloading a truck with groceries in front of my bike and next time I look up, there’s a pig on the side of the road looking for snacks.  To my right there are tons of women with produce on their head surrounding a car trying to make a sale.  I noticed they did that to other vehicles as well.  It just looks like mass chaos.   

As I left town, I turned on my video and recorded some of the scene.  Shortly there after I put on my Corey Hart playlist and was thinking a lot about what’s coming in September.  I haven’t mentioned yet but a week or so ago it was announced that Corey Hart would be singing a couple of Bryan Adams songs at Brian's induction into the songwriter Hall of Fame in Toronto.  Let’s just say there was no way I could miss this as they are two of my favorite artists.  I had to leave Africa by the end of September anyways and this event just helps solidify when I will wrap up my trip in Africa which will now be  around the end of August.  It's kind of is good to give me an end date.  

A few days ago Andrew, from the guesthouse in Zimba, had told me that the day I left, that that day would be mostly flat. In my book it wasn’t mostly flat and it was confirmed again that you can never trust people in cars when they tell you it's flat.   He had warned me about the hills after Choma,  but of course I forgot about it.  I went through an area where they grew coffee and the biggest hills I’ve seen in a while presented themselves. Luckily I had more down than up but I did have a couple of good climbs in there.  I surprised myself because one I looked at and I thought,  "Oh no!  I might have to walk it,"  but actually I cycled up it no problem.  

The road is very smooth but the shoulder is not.  So I try to stay in the lane of traffic if it's just cars coming or if I can see the truck is going around me giving me space.  If not, I swerve off onto the rough, bumpy shoulder until they have passed me and then I move back to the lane of traffic.  It was very nice riding through the coffee growing area.  It was scenic with the hills and I had a nice downhill that was fun.  I actually didn’t take another break for another 20 miles which is so not like me.  I guess I did stop once and lean over my bike so I could have a little bit of a snack.  

At the next town I also found a cold drink and then ate some of the food I’ve been carrying.  I only have 10 miles left to go.  I was actually in my happy place most of this afternoon. That's been missing lately because of the constant daily headwind.   The weather has been a bit cooler, but  not today.  The sun was and it was the perfect riding temperature and I enjoyed the scenery.  Probably didn't hurt that I was listening to my Corey Hart playlist and wondering what Bryan Adams songs he will be singing.  Hmmm.  

I got to my guest house and I was a little disappointed because I thought it was going to be nicer. But I do have a gigantic room with some antique pieces in it and I’m very comfortable.   What was very nice were the gardens, the sun shining and baby chicks running around AND upon arrival, a guy wanted to buy me a beer on arrival because he was impressed with my trip.  I gladly accepted a Coke, no sugar instead. 

I just want to mention that I am really enjoying Zambia.  All the locals ride bikes and wave hello or give me a thumbs up.  Never  mind the "mzungu" shouts I hear throughout the day.  It means "white person" and it can get annoying.  Mostly it's kids, so I have a high tolerance.  So far, I mostly smile, wave or shout hello.

Heart 0 Comment 0
A sunflower garden
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rest break. I appreciated the bench in front of the store. Beats sitting on the concrete.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A view of the strip mall and Glory looking happy on my bag.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Always such nice displays. If I actually liked watermelon, maybe I would have bought one.
Heart 0 Comment 0
"Discipline and Hardwork." Perhaps they should work on spelling! Ha ha. All the schools have signs out front similar to this and with a motto.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The guy on the left bought me my drink, the guy on the right is the owner of the gueshouse
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wow, my drink looks huge! Ha ha. Thanks guys!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nice antique desk
Heart 0 Comment 0
Home sweet home tonight EXCEPT the throw rugs they have down by my bedside and the foot of the bed could kill me. They were very slippery rugs on the flooring when I stepped on them and I thought I might fall more than once. I moved the bedside one eventually. No need to break my neck in the middle of the night.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Baby chickens
Heart 0 Comment 0
The gardens were nice and of course I love the colorful flowers
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 51 miles (82 km)
Total: 3,309 miles (5,325 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0