Canyon Farm Yard to Keetmanshoop - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

March 31, 2022

Canyon Farm Yard to Keetmanshoop

Grasshopper trauma

I didn't have wi-fi or cell service the last couple of nights so imagine how happy I was 20 miles into today's ride to get to the distillery and they had wi-fi.  Also, water at the Farm Yard not drinkable so I was happy for that refill I got yesterday and more  happy to have a couple of cold drinks and a sandwich.  I left at around 7:00 this morning and made good time to this spot.  I knew there was camping at the dam just ahead, but it was so early.

Wild horses!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Nice setting at the distillery
Heart 2 Comment 0
A little heart display at the cafe reminded me of a certain musician, Corey Hart
Heart 2 Comment 0
My bike resting up
Heart 3 Comment 0

 

I decided I'd try to catch a ride through the next 10 miles of gravel and then I'd be on a paved highway and make better time to Keetmanshoop, ie civilization.  Although I ran into the couple and their kids who had also camped at Canyon Farm Yard, and they were impressed I was already here (that never happens, ha ha), they didn't have room for me or my bike.  Checked with another couple and then decided I'd just go ahead and bike it.  I knew I could probably make it, but also knew I'd be tired as it was starting to get hot.  I obviously did make it the entire 54 miles, and yes I was pretty tired at the end.

I left the distillery, and lovely vineyards and headed back out.  I was confused about the road ahead, but the lady had told me to take the lower road.  I must have missed the part about the water.  I go down a bit of a hill and the road ends, well not exactly end, but this....

Wonder what this sign means?
Heart 1 Comment 0
Oh!!!! It means tight squeeze through the water!
Heart 1 Comment 0

I am confused and think maybe I was suppose to take the upper road, so I turn around and pedal back up the hill.  The upper road seems to have a gate blocking access.  I go back towards the vineyard where I see guys walking in the field and ask them.  Yes, I am suppose to be take the lower road, but "be careful, it's slippery!"  This should be interesting!

Maybe I was suppose to take the upper road. Hmmm
Heart 1 Comment 0

I quickly ruled out trying to ride through it because of the "slippery" factor.  Me falling over 1/2 way through is in no way going to end well.  A bunch of cars showed up and I could tell it was at least a few inches deep in the middle.  I decided to be tricky and pushed my bike through while stepping from cement pylon to cement pylon.  I had to step down in the water a couple of times for an extra challenge.  To my left was more of a pond below the pylons.  I had to remind myself there were no hippo's or crocs, but I certainly didn't want to lose my balance and fall down there!  I was worried my bike would slip and in an effort to catch it, I'd fall.  Happy to report, I made it across safely where I was immediately greeted with a steep hill.  I just pushed my bike up it at this point.  I saw access to the dam to the right, but I just decided I would ride all the way to Keetmanshoop.

Always an adventure! Thanks cement pylons for keeping my feet dry!
Heart 2 Comment 0

It turned continuing to ride on the gravel was a good decision because I really enjoyed the scenery and would have been bummed if I missed it.  However, I was pretty happy to see pavement again. 

Looks extra scenic up ahead
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
This was my look when a car or truck went by me. I was engulfed in a cloud of dust.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Exhibit A: Cloud of dust. It was much worse if they didn't slow down and most of them didn't! Grrrrr!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Based on the dust from the cars ahead, it appears I am going to be going slightly uphill. On the bright side, I shouldn't have to go ouver those mountains ahead
Heart 1 Comment 0

I reach the junction and take a lunch break at the as once again, the signs created a shady spot for me.  While I was there relaxing in my chair, two separate trucks turned left onto the dirt road.  Both single men looking over at me which made me a little nervous.  Both guys had decided that was a good spot for a pee break.  Really guys?  You couldn't have driven just a little bit further down the road, which actually had a bend in it, and did your business there!  Men.  Geez!

I thought Glory was disgusted with how dirty I was as he wandered off during my lunch break
Heart 1 Comment 0
But really Glory is just so thoughtful. He knew I wouldn't actually kiss the pavement, so he did it for me.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A colorful train. Hey, when you've been looking a only at the various shades of tan, brown, green, and black, this is exciting!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looking back at the area I rode through
Heart 1 Comment 0

I leave on my break and am happy I am back on pavement, but don't seem to be going very fast.  I eventually noticed I definitely was on a slightly uphill grade.  The route was not all flat like I was told it was.  No surprise there.  People who drive cars lie!  Eventually, I am speedy.  And then, my grasshopper hell really begins.

I  had already dealt with a bunch of grasshoppers on the gravel roads this morning, but there are more.  Thousands of red babies crossing the road in groups.  I thought yesterday was bad.  Today was so much worse!  That's a new level of mental toughness I acquired in the last couple of days.  My language every time I saw them ahead - a four letter word that starts with letter in the alphabet that comes before "G" for grasshoppers and rhymes with yuck!

Let's talk the "yuck" factor.  Tons of grasshoppers obviously get ran over by cars.  It actually leaves a red/orange residue on the road.  I can't even believe what I am seeing!  Just gross!  And the smell.  Not as gross as you might think, but definitely a distinct smell to it.

Ostriches were sitting just behind the fence. I didn't see them until they all stood up as I approached
Heart 1 Comment 0
Ostrich butts as they left me
Heart 2 Comment 0

I'm struggling the last 15 or so miles.  It's hot.  I'm tired.  I had two places picked out in Keetmanshoop.  Lots of people about and when I came to the first gas station, as much as I wanted a cold drink, there were too many people hanging out and I didn't want to leave my bike.  Luckily, a little bit further up the road is a second gas station without the crowds.  I downed a Gatorade.  

I make my way to the guesthouse around the corner.  The lady tells me she's not sure if she has rooms as she's still waiting for guests to arrive and why don't I go across the way and she points to a building a bit away.  I tell her, "Because I want to stay here and I see rooms available on booking dot com."  She double checks and tells me she has a room.  I thought she was turned off by my appearance, but she told me later that there was a group that was maybe coming.  They never showed.  My room is cute and the meerkat pillows make the room.  The shower was excellent!!

I love the pillows
Heart 1 Comment 0
Hotels/self catering means they usually have a little kitchen area
Heart 2 Comment 0
The welcoming commitee
Heart 1 Comment 0

I take two rest days just catching up on everything and relaxing.  The last week has had some rough days.  I'm in no hurry and my next day is going to be a longer mileage day.    

  

Today's ride: 54 miles (87 km)
Total: 2,383 miles (3,835 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Rich FrasierYou are a brave woman. Just saying... Good hard day of riding.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kim JohnsonTo Rich FrasierHey Rich, thanks so much for the compliment. I will take it at face value because if you knew how scared I was to cycle Africa, let alone by myself, it did take some courage to head out into the unknown.
Thanks for following along!
-Kim
Reply to this comment
1 year ago