Getting ready: Is my bicycle fit? - From Munich to Paris - CycleBlaze

Getting ready: Is my bicycle fit?

Since 2003, Janos and I have both been riding hard-tail mountain bikes equipped with racks and mud guards. But recently I have been getting the idea that fat, 26" tires aren't ideal for our touring, which is largely on sealed surfaces. Are our mountain bikes making life more difficult than necessary?

In addition, I have felt for a long time that my sitting position isn't ideal. I almost always have shoulder pain at the end of the day, especially on flat stretches, and after 80 km the seat becomes more than uncomfortable.

Perhaps a new bike will roll more easily and I will have a better sitting position. A new bike as cure-all?

My brain latched on to the idea of a touring bike with mountain-bike gearing and would not let go. Somehow I got attached to the Koga Miyata Randonneur. So, like the old geezer who has to drive a Porsche, after some deliberation and visits to the bike shop I plunked down the money for a Koga Miyata. Janos followed suit.

The bike is beautiful - can a Koga Miyata not be beautiful? But having a steel frame it is heavier than my old bike, something I am still worrying about. I hope this won't be a serious drawback. To date I have taken a few rides (flat and unloaded) of 30 - 60 kilometers and have found that with the new handlebars, which afford different riding positions, I am having no problems with numb fingers or shoulder pain as in the past. Also due to the altered sitting position I am no longer feeling unpleasant pressure from the saddle although I am using the same type saddle as previously.

Hurrah, a new bike!

Riding home from the bicycle shop on my brand new Koga.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltThat looks like a very comfortable riding bike. :) Narrow enough tires, and upright stance with curved bar ends.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0