To Guadalupe - Follow My Heart - CycleBlaze

April 14, 2024

To Guadalupe

A most extraordinary day - the weather, the cycling, the landscape, the history were all outstanding.

The day began with breakfast at Solaire and a warm thank you to Fabien, my wonderful host and big supporter of cyclists. Then it was onward to Guadalupe, a mere 17 miles away, but oh what wonderful miles they were. I’ll let the pictures and a few captions tell the story, there isn’t much more I can add.

A look back at Castanar de Ibor
Heart 3 Comment 0
Onward and upward to Guadalupe
Heart 4 Comment 0
It was a day of ups and downs
Heart 3 Comment 0
Navalvillar de Ibor
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonI want to the top of one of those peaks!
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
Bridge across the Garganta Solibriga
Heart 3 Comment 0
Nacho and Juan, returning home after a short bikepacking adventure
Heart 4 Comment 0
Park area where Nacho and Juan spent last night
Heart 5 Comment 0
Nacho and Juan's campsite
Heart 2 Comment 0
On the way to Guadalupe
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
An amazing cycling road for both bicycles and motorcycles, the latter comprising most of what little traffic there was on this Sunday morning
Heart 4 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonHow nice to have a quiet road!
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
Heart 3 Comment 0
The landscape became more wooded as I gained elevation on final climb before Guadalupe
Heart 4 Comment 0
A look back
Heart 3 Comment 0
At the overlook down toward Guadalupe. The descent from here was a bit dicey
Heart 6 Comment 2
Rachael AndersonWhat a great photo to commemorate the ride!
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
Susan CarpenterTo Rachael AndersonAnother cyclist had just rode up from Guadalupe and I took his picture so he reciprocated - it was so nice for us both!
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
Guadalupe, in the haze of a mid-day sun
Heart 2 Comment 0
Guadalupe and its Monastery
Heart 4 Comment 0
The Guadalupe Parador (foreground) and the Guadalupe Monastery, all from my terrace
Heart 6 Comment 1
Patrick O'HaraNice digs, Susan!
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago

Due to the fact that I had already booked a room for last night, I was able to check in to the Parador as soon as I arrived. Located directly adjacent to the Monastery, the Parador offers guests wonderful views of the Guadalupe Monastery right from their room. I spent the first 20 minutes just sitting on my terrace taking it all in.

The Royal Monastery of Saint Mary of Guadalupe is a Roman Catholic monastery whose origins date to the late 13th/early 14th century. There are various legends regarding the significant event that first placed a religious edifice in Guadalupe, but all involve the discovery or vision of the Virgin Mary. The has been extensive structural expansion since a small chapel was first erected here, and the monastery now dominates the city of Guadalupe. It was declared a UNESCO World Heritage site in 1993, and today is a both a significant pilgrimage destination and tourist attraction.

Most of the following set of pictures were taken from my hotel room terrace.

Heart 4 Comment 2
Rachael AndersonHow great to have a terrace with such great views!
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
Susan CarpenterTo Rachael AndersonIt was amazing - and a great place to dry my clothes!
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

After prying myself from the terrace, I cleaned up and walked the short block into town. It was then I realized how truly massive the Monastery is - it utterly dominates the town. I found a nice restaurant that seated me without a reservation and after lunch I took a brief walk about town. There was a line for Monastery Tours that I passed on, so I went back to the hotel for a nap – exhausted from all the wonderfulness I’d experienced today.

It started as a small chapel.....
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
In Guadalupe - a town dominated by the Monastery
Heart 3 Comment 0
In Guadalupe
Heart 6 Comment 0
In Guadalupe
Heart 2 Comment 0
In Guadalupe
Heart 5 Comment 0

Today's ride: 18 miles (29 km)
Total: 617 miles (993 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 0