To Castanar de Ibor - Follow My Heart - CycleBlaze

April 13, 2024

To Castanar de Ibor

Two of the places I wanted to include on this tour of Iberia were the Monfragüe Natural Park and the city of Guadalupe, a town on the eastern slope of the Guadalupe Mountains that is famous for its monastery. The challenge was devise a reasonable itinerary between the two places that would not include days with both high mileage and high elevation. Hence, my decision to stay last night at a hotel on the autoroute. Castanar de Ibor lies a little more than half-way between the autoroute hotel and Guadalupe and though it was an ideal stopover, they had no available lodging. 

 Given the lack of lodging, I had planned to cycle all the way to Guadalupe in one go – a ride of 45 miles with over 4,100 hundred feet of climbing. I booked two non-refundable nights at the Parador in Guadalupe, knowing I’d need a rest day to recover – if I even made it! In the meantime, I kept checking to see if something would open up in Castanar – and just last week I found the last room available at Solaire Hostal Restaurante. I grabbed it. It meant eating the cost of one night at the Parador Guadalupe, but I would have two days to enjoy cycling through the mountains rather than one crushing day of potential misery.

 After sheepishly turning in the key to the room I didn’t sleep in, I was off to the mountains. The route started on the autoroute frontage road and then moved onto quiet roads through a scrub landscape of small agricultural communities – there were horses, chickens, sheep, and a cattle feedlot. The landscape opened up as I made my way up to Valdehúncar and then re-crossed the Tagus River at the Valdecañus Reservoir where I joined EX118, which would take me all the way to Castanar. 

A cheery house in Millanes
Heart 7 Comment 0
Quiet roads to start the day
Heart 6 Comment 2
Janice BranhamAhh, I could use a road like that about now. I haven't seen any quiet roads in South Carolina.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Susan CarpenterTo Janice BranhamJust one of the many pleasures of cycling in Europe- as I’m sure you’ve experienced. Safe travels up the US coast
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Sunning cattle
Heart 3 Comment 0
I liked how the sun illuminated her ear fringe
Heart 8 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Crossing the Tagus, again
Heart 3 Comment 0

The big climb of the day began just past Bohonal de Ibor, over five miles with inclines of 10-14%. The route up the side of the hillside was visible for miles, more than enough time to psych myself out. It started out gently enough, though the traffic on EX118 was heavier than I liked for a climb. After two miles, the gradient took a sharp turn up – 10% the sign said. RWGPS had routed me on a side road, a not-uncommon feature that I generally ignore as it usually means a steeper route on a sketchy surface. But this seemed to be different - it was a paved district highway used by at least one truck that I could see. Thinking it might be a less steep truck route, I took it. And it was the best decision of the day – a two mile alternate route with a max gradient of just over 8%. More importantly, there were no cars. It was as enjoyable as a climb like that can be, relaxed and with enough time to stop and enjoy the scenery.     

Psyching myself out, I wondered why they couldn't have chosen a route that didn't go straight up over the top of the hillside
Heart 7 Comment 2
Scott AndersonHey, you think that’s straight up? Look at that nice S-shape it’s got. Wait until you get to England!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Susan CarpenterI’m trying not to think about it - thanks for the reminder :)
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
And there was such a route - EX118R - highly recommended if you're ever cycling this way
Heart 6 Comment 0
Time to enjoy the scenery while climbing
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
And time to stop and smell the flowers
Heart 8 Comment 4
Bill ShaneyfeltRock rose! Starting to see these in journals now.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cistus_ladanifer
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Susan CarpenterTo Bill ShaneyfeltThanks Bill - I always forget
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Susan CarpenterMe too... If only I could remember half of what I have learned, no, make that 10%, I'd be a genius. As it is, I continue to spend a lot of time searching for an ID of something I know I have looked up before!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Susan CarpenterTo Bill ShaneyfeltYour efforts and success at identification are greatly appreciated by me, and many CBers. Thank you!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
And time to take a selfie
Heart 7 Comment 0
Back on EX118
Heart 3 Comment 0

My alternate route eventually merged back with EX118 and final nine miles on EX118 into Castanar were a delight, flying along on a balcony road overlooking a valley of olive groves rimmed with high peaks. I pulled off into a natural area where I met Julia, born here but now living outside Paris. Her family had once owned plots of olive trees in the area, and she comes back every year to rekindle her love of the natural beauty of Castanar and its surroundings. 

 I swooped down into Castanar de Ibor, barely stopping before making my way to the Solaire Hostal, located on the far side of town. Vivien George was stashed into the beer room and I enjoyed my sandwich and a cold drink while chatting up a couple of women from Belgium who were traveling around Extremadura. I retreated to my room, at dinner at the Solaire restaurant and put a cap on a wonderful day of cycling, and of great decision making.

Heart 5 Comment 0
Julia, photographing the spring flowers to show her friends in France
Heart 4 Comment 0
Julia - I was surprised when she asked me if I spoke French but my rudimentary skills enabled me to carry on a nice conversation, most of which I understood
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Flying along a balcony road overlooking a valley of olive groves and distant mountains
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Castenar de Ibor
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 28 miles (45 km)
Total: 599 miles (964 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Kelly IniguezExcellent decision to cut one hard day into two. That is a tactic I fully endorse and practice!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Susan CarpenterTo Kelly IniguezYes!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago