Here I Go Again - Follow My Heart - CycleBlaze

February 1, 2024

Here I Go Again

At the end of this short month, on Sadie Hawkins Day, I will return to one of my true loves - Paris, France.  It’s a place I just can’t quit.

 I’ve secured a long-stay visa to spend seven months living and touring in Europe – oh what a lucky soul am I! Similar to my 2022 Skipping About tour, I will base myself in Paris from whence I’ll launch a number of cycling tours that vary in length from days to weeks. My plans are somewhat loose, with only three tours firmly set as of this writing: Iberia in March/April; Dordogne in May; and the UK in July/August. I’ll return to the US in early October as I must be in Denver on Oct 13 for my niece's wedding.

 Though I usually tour solo, I’ve really enjoyed the opportunities I’ve had over the past couple of years to join up with other CycleBlazers. There are a couple of planned meet-ups/short stints with other CBers this coming year, and I’ll be the “tour leader” when some friends from Raleigh visit France in May. Also, it seems that unexpected opportunities often arise for meet-ups with Cycle Blazers to share a coffee, a meal, or some miles on the bikes. These are always a highlight, so don’t hesitate to contact me if you think our paths might cross, on the road or in Paris.

 Over the next few weeks, I’ll recap some of the short bicycling forays I’ve completed over the last nine months. Nothing too much, just a refresher to get me back into the journaling life while I pine for Paris and life on the road.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 15
Comment on this entry Comment 16
Mark BinghamLooking forward to reading about it!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Suzanne GibsonGreat to see your journal is up, Susan! We are looking forward to Iberia so much!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesWhere will you be in Iberia? We will be circling about the coast, February from Valencia to late March in Santiago Compostela. If our paths cross we would love to see you again.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Rich FrasierWoohoo! So happy to see this!!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Jacquie GaudetSomeday our titanium bikes will meet. It doesn’t look like it will happen in 2024, though, so I’ll just follow along online as usual!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Susan CarpenterTo Mark BinghamThanks Mark for following along
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Susan CarpenterTo Suzanne GibsonThanks Suzanne - I'm very much looking forward to riding again with you and Janos.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Susan CarpenterTo Steve Miller/GrampiesIt would be great to see you both again. I think you might be ahead of me in Iberia - I will start in Seville on Mar 22 - but we might be able to meet-up later when you're in France.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Susan CarpenterTo Rich FrasierIt'd be great to see you and Robin and I'm hoping to get down to your neck of the woods sometime this year - or we could meet-up for a few days of cycling in another location. I'll keep in touch.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Susan CarpenterTo Jacquie GaudetA titanium meet-up - what a great idea! Not sure if/when you're doing your volcanoes trip, but it's always possible I could meet you somewhere along the route.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Janice BranhamBicycling by heart - that's the way to do it!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Susan CarpenterI’m not sure either, but leaning towards starting mid-September. I might even have friends coming along but otherwise I’ll do it solo.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesTo Susan CarpenterLet's see how it goes. We will follow your blog, great title by the way, and watch for a possible convergence.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Patrick O'HaraGood on ya' for heading back for another long stint! Looking forward to following along.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Kathleen JonesCan’t wait.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Rachael AndersonI’m glad you are posting again! I hope you have a wonderful time and an looking forward to our meet ups!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago