To Miajadas - Follow My Heart - CycleBlaze

April 15, 2024

To Miajadas

I’ve put off writing about the ride the Miajergas, but I’ve fallen behind and must now recount a day that both elated and exhausted me.  

 The weather continued its splendid run of fine days, with sunshine, little wind and warming temperatures. Knowing I had a hard day, I filled up on breakfast at the Parador – eggs, yogurt, cereal – and packed a lunch sandwich. Then I headed out of the mountains and into the plains of Extremadura.

 After an exhilarating descent from Guadalupe, I began the first of three climbs that over the next ten miles would take me to Cañamero. None of the three were hard climbs, and I thoroughly enjoyed the solitude of the near empty, wide roads as the route took me from the forested hillsides of Guadalupe to the olive groves beyond Cañamero.

Good morning Guadalupe!
Heart 6 Comment 1
Scott AndersonWhat a fantastic skyline! In an odd way it makes me think of the Wawel in Krakow.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Vivien George enjoying the morning sun
Heart 6 Comment 1
Patrick O'HaraI like your bike.
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
It looks to be a wonderful beginning for the day
Heart 4 Comment 0
Nearing the top of the first climb and looking back toward Guadalupe
Heart 4 Comment 0
Curves ahead on the downhill
Heart 4 Comment 1
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
The valley starts to widen and olive groves appear as I near Cañamero
Heart 3 Comment 0
Approaching Cañamero
Heart 5 Comment 0

The landscape continued to change as I rolled past Logrosán and into Zorita.  The valleys had broadened, with slopes carpeted in groves of olive trees. Wldflowers were again exploding around me, and grazing sheep and cattle appeared in the open pastures. But in the treeless landscape, the warming sun that I so craved earlier in the tour was now hot and unrelenting. And as the rollers accumulated, both my legs and body tired. I sought refuge in a shaded park on the edge of Zorita, where I joined a small work crew for our picnic lunch.

Large groves of olive trees covered the hillsides beyond Cañamero
Heart 4 Comment 0
And fields of wildflowers burst on the scene
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
I stopped at a gas station near Logrosán for my daily fix of carbonated sugar
Heart 4 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonThe beverage of champions!
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
After Logrosán, the countryside took on more of an agricultural feel
Heart 4 Comment 0
Daily stork shot
Heart 5 Comment 0
Sheep grazing at an abandoned train station
Heart 4 Comment 0
More memorable colors of this extraordinary Extremadura spring
Heart 7 Comment 0
A look back
Heart 4 Comment 0
A fishing paradise??
Heart 2 Comment 0
Comrades enjoying lunch in the shade in Zorita
Heart 4 Comment 0

The last fourteen miles into Miajergas were a stuggle. I was cycling in the hot sun through open fields of grain that reminded me of eastern Colorado. The land seemed flat, but the accumulating short ups and downs continued to take their toll and I was pretty well spent by the time I found my lodging in Miajergas. A wonderful young staffer locked Vivien George into her storage room and carried my panniers upstairs where I collapsed in my room and lay motionless for the next two hours.

It was a tough day, and one with more miles that I would have liked. But I had to get to Merida tomorrow where I was meeting Scott, Rachael, Suzanne and Janos. The long miles totally were worth it.

Rolling through fields of grain
Heart 6 Comment 0
Looks a bit like eastern Colorado to me
Heart 4 Comment 0
Flowers always make me smile
Heart 5 Comment 0
Escurial, whose towering church fooled me into thinking I'd reached Miajergas
Heart 3 Comment 0
At last, the peaceful terrace of my lodging in Miajergas
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 1
Patrick O'HaraHave fun with The Crew! Looking forward to your shared adventures.
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago

Today's ride: 46 miles (74 km)
Total: 663 miles (1,067 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rachael AndersonI’m so glad you got help with your bike and luggage so you could rest!
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago