In the Footsteps of Knights - Follow My Heart - CycleBlaze

April 5, 2024

In the Footsteps of Knights

I was drawn to Castelo de Vide by the lure of Marvão, a fortified medieval village perched atop a rocky crag of the Serra de São Mamede.  As one prolific CBer once said: “Come to Marvão!  In my view, it’s worth planning a whole tour around.” Not to mention that Marvão is listed in the best-selling book 1000 Places to see Before you Die. The plan was to base ourselves for two nights in Castelo de Vide with the option of cycling 9 miles up to Marvão unburdened by paniers. I was also intrigued by the possibility of hiking to Marvão on a medieval path used by knights. 

 All options remained viable when Suzanne and Janos stopped by my door on the way to breakfast; however, things changed a bit when we were blasted with a howling wind. At breakfast, Suzanne and Janos confirmed that they were both taking a rest day, and I was hesitant to ride up/down to Marvão in the strong winds. Instead, I thought I would try to find the medieval trail. A 12+ mile out and back to Marvão seemed out of reach for me, but I loved the idea of following in the footsteps of knights.

 Before setting out, I plotted a route on RWGPS. Not having much experience in using the OSM Outdoor mapping function, I just ask it to plot me a walking route between the two towns. I also downloaded the route from All Trails, but it began in Marvão and I couldn’t figure out how to reverse it. Thus armed with some sketchy routing, I set out – first through the streets on Castelo and then along small roads on the outskirts of town. Along the way I met Charlotte, a young French woman from Colmar who was spending a month exploring the Alentejo by car. She was out for a day hike, and headed off in a different direction soon after we parted.

All smiles to greet a sunny day
Heart 5 Comment 0
In Castelo de Vide
Heart 4 Comment 0
A look across the plain on the way to Marvão
Heart 5 Comment 0
Charlotte from Colmar, out for a hike
Heart 5 Comment 0

The route continued down pleasant roads, past cork-out stands and fields of sheep. The All Trails description indicated the route was a mix of road and trails, but after 1.3 miles I’d not left paved roads. Frustrated, with the RWGPS paved route, I turned to All Trails and discovered 1) that it was tracking me, and 2) that I was less than half a mile from the trail junction. I soon found the trail sign and was so excited that I just snapped a picture and turned down the trail, not paying too much attention as to what the sign said.

Along the small roads outside Castelo de Vide
Heart 2 Comment 0
A nice stand of cork oaks
Heart 3 Comment 0
I wonder if the trail goes down here - - probably not through a gated drive
Heart 3 Comment 0
A CVD to MRV trail sign - finally!!
Heart 2 Comment 0

 At first, the trail was a two-track dirt road that wound through small farms and residences. It later narrowed, becoming a small path that sometimes disappeared in the high grass. There weren’t really any views, until I rounded a corner and saw…the castle of Castelo de Vide. I was headed in the wrong direction!!  I was hot and getting hungry and not inclined to reverse course. So I continued on my way, eventually passing through the gates of Castelo de Vide. I made my way up the hill to the town center, where I found Janos and Suzanne just finishing their lunch. I joined them for a cold fanta and a few laughs.

In the footsteps of knights, at last
Heart 3 Comment 0
Along the medieval path
Heart 4 Comment 0
Wait - that looks like Castelo de Vide! Am I going the wrong way???
Heart 3 Comment 0
Still, a nice walk
Heart 5 Comment 0
Along the medieval path
Heart 5 Comment 0
Looking back toward Marvão
Heart 3 Comment 0
Oh, that way to Marvão
Heart 3 Comment 0
Purple door
Heart 5 Comment 0
Through the gates of Castelo de Vide
Heart 6 Comment 0
Small children at play, with grandmother out of view
Heart 4 Comment 0
In lieu of a barber pole
Heart 2 Comment 0
Back in the center of Castelo de Vide
Heart 3 Comment 0
What did you really think of the lunch?
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heading back up to our lodging at the base of the castle
Heart 6 Comment 0
On the way home
Heart 3 Comment 0

We ended the day back at the tapas restaurant where we enjoyed such a fine meal the previous night. Janos' sardine dish came complete with little clothes pins, and we all toasted a successful day off the bikes in Castelo de Vide. Marvão will be added to the growing list of Portuguese towns for a return trip.

Navigating traffic on the way to dinner
Heart 3 Comment 0
Sardines on the line
Heart 7 Comment 0
Evening shadows
Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Rachael AndersonSorry you didn’t get to see Marva0! That sign is confusing.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Scott AndersonOn the plus side, you got a nice look at Castelo de Vide. We only just biked through, and I wished we’d had time to stop.

And, the castle’s been standing over a thousand years, so you should still have time.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Susan CarpenterTo Scott AndersonCastelo de Vide is a great stopover and I think the strategy for visiting Marvão was sound, just not executed
Reply to this comment
1 month ago