Yes New Friends - Om Rides To Canada - CycleBlaze

September 14, 2023

Yes New Friends

Crown Point NY to Burlington VT

The last 24 hours have been oddly social for a solo trip. There’s something about traveling alone that gets people talking to you (and also I don’t often shut up so I also talk to people)

Before breaking down camp for the morning I visited His Majesty’s fort at crown point.

Heart 1 Comment 0
How much is the rent if this was in Manhattan?
Heart 1 Comment 0

Basically the morning was totally idyllic country riding. I’m glad I took the Vermont side of Champlain though I’ve never been to the Adirondacks. It’s just so purdy. Like Windows Vista desktop wallpaper but real life.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Since there was another short day in effect I stopped early on in Vergennes for a big breakfast. I’m really glad I did! I happened to run into two other cycle tourists - Benny and Emma who were also on the way toward Montreal and their friend Margot who was riding to Burlington today. I decided to join them for the day and chat about routes and plans.

The pictures tell the story better than I have to, it was a great day.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
I kinda want one for my room
Heart 2 Comment 0
We stopped for apple cider donuts - it’s Vermont we have to. No donuts pictured because they were in my belly
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
This cutie was waiting for us at the top of the Burlington climb
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 1
Rich FrasierSo fun to ride with (new) friends!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
University of Vermont
Heart 1 Comment 0

After riding with the trio to their friends place I doubled back to South Burlington where I was staying with another warmshowers host.

A seasoned cyclist, we chatted the night away about what we think about while biking. He dug out some maps of how he would do the upcoming Canada crossing. It worked so well last time that I’m again ditching my half baked plan of entering on the Vermont side. Looking forward to what tomorrow has in store.

Thanks for reading! 

Today's ride: 45 miles (72 km)
Total: 419 miles (674 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0