In Spite of Rain - Om Rides To Canada - CycleBlaze

September 13, 2023

In Spite of Rain

Glens Falls NY to Crown Point NY (via Vermont)

I have a hypothesis that I am not a morning person unless it comes to getting to ride bikes. My host works early so I had the chance to test my mettle - there’s a new caveat, it can’t be raining. (Only jokes, thank you Pam if you are reading!)

The worlds most reluctant dawn patrol
Heart 1 Comment 0

It was real East Coast rain. After living for three years in the Pacific Northwest, my mentality is still that it’s fine I’ll just get wet. The strategy there is to focus on layering up and stay warm. 

About an hour in I decided it was too dark still and would wait it out a bit and figure out the layering. I stopped at a diner and filled up on coffee.

Afterwards, I donned another jacket, knee warmers, and my comically oversized high viz vest. I was prepared to embrace the suck.

Coffee induced smile, about to head back out
Heart 1 Comment 0

After over a day and a half guess where I ended back up 

We’re back baby!
Heart 1 Comment 0

It is a short lived reunion though. On the advice of my host, I decided I’d skip lake George and head due east to Vermont, following 22A and the Champlain Bikeway for a few days along some beautiful country roads. In other words, I am ditching the Empire State Trail for pretty much the rest of my trip. This ended up being a great choice despite the nasty weather conditions.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Given I impromptu decided this route, I was relying on Google Maps, which I often try not to on bike touring. My lunch stop was going to be in Poultney, VT and google suggested a rail trail that was no longer resembling either rail nor trail so I’ll have to report that one

The unmarked private road should have maybe tipped me off
Heart 1 Comment 0
Hmm this is not typically what a rail trail looks like but maybe they are trying something new
Heart 1 Comment 0
Maybe this pole blocking my way is telling me I’m totally on the right track to finding the trail
Heart 1 Comment 0
Okay what the heck this is a quarry I’m going back i can’t get down there safely
Heart 1 Comment 0

So after this encounter I gave up on my venture to Vermont and stayed on 22A in New York for an extra ten miles. At this point I was totally drenched and everything was just generally not that fun. But there was no expected lightning and it was still reasonably safe, so the show must go on!

Some pictures from my wet plight.

Marshmellow farm!!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heckin yeah! First state crossing of the trip
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

For a couple hours it let up a bit and I thought the worst was over. The clouds were moving west I should be fine as I am now going north for a while.

I spent a couple hours of the afternoon on some sunny farm roads. The grass was lush. Then…

“Class 4 road: drive at own risk” Ah crap here we go again
Heart 1 Comment 0

This time it turned out fine and the road was real. But I did spray mud all the way up my front and back. Why don’t I have fenders? No good reason. It’s important to look cool. 

I made it back up to 125 to cut west back into NY. For some reason the VT campgrounds were not open. But since the clouds had moved west I guess I caught up to them. Against all of my better judgement I rode right back into the downpour. Dang.

But when I finally came into sight of the bridge 5 miles along 125 I saw the most beautiful thing. And the rain started to let up right about then too. Can’t make this stuff up, it was like a movie.

Heart 1 Comment 0
I like bridges
Heart 2 Comment 0
Second state crossing - barely crossed back over but it counts
Heart 1 Comment 0
Camping with a view
Heart 1 Comment 0

All I can say, without getting on my soapbox, is things are gonna be fine. 

I met a group of camper van travelers who also happened to love bikes and we chatted the night away. They shared their food and it was great to have eaten vegetables for the first time in a couple days.

bedtime. Finally drying everything out.

Thanks for reading! 

Today's ride: 79 miles (127 km)
Total: 374 miles (602 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0