The route - Om Rides To Canada - CycleBlaze

The route

For privacy reasons (solo female traveller and computery person), I am not planning to share an exact GPX route.

 However, I did build a zoomed out view of the route and will explain how / what I pieced together (and filled in the gaps with Komoot, Google Maps, etc) and give you a reasonable idea.


Heart 0 Comment 0

Until Glens Falls, I was criss crossing over the Empire State Trail. The EST famously doesn't have a lot of camping options south of Albany - which makes sense because of how developed the area is and expensive land is. As a result, I was regularly entering/exiting it depending on where I was staying or where I found camping opportunities. You can take EST all the way to Rouses Point, NY, which is where my return crossing into the states took place. It's the "Gateway to the North".

The camping issue becomes less apparent if you take west or northbound paths from Albany (Niagara-bound or Quebec-bound). There are lots of dispersed camping opportunities in the Adirondacks. However, I was recommended to try 22A to travel through Vermont. This is a big country road with reasonable shoulders (in my opinion). Eventually you'll connect with the Lake Champlain Bikeway, which will take you up to the border. I highly, highly recommend going through the Hero Islands and Alburgh for maximally beautiful rides. It means you'll also see the Lake Champlain Causeway.

Finally, Montreal may easily be the most bike friendly place in North America (that I am aware of) - you can take Route Verte 1 within 10 miles of your border crossing all the way into Montreal. I recommend going through Saint Jean sur Richelieu and Chambly on the way up just because it is spectatular.

I mostly glued these three together as the mood struck - the original plan was to follow the EST upto the border, but that didn't happen. Stay flexible! It'll be fun.



Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0