Stormchasing - Om Rides To Canada - CycleBlaze

September 8, 2023

Stormchasing

Brooklyn NY to Peekskill NY

The dawn patrol had only one member today: yours truly.

Dawn patrol
Heart 1 Comment 0


 Left under cover of darkness this morning! Wanted to give myself plenty of time to beat the impending storm. 

I crossed over the Brooklyn Bridge and went up the west side of Manhattan. This is a regular route for me so was just listening to some tunes and watching the city wake up. It’s pretty beautiful how many people are out on bikes or running or whatever before heading off to work.

But first let me take a selfie
Heart 4 Comment 0
A better lit picture of my gear and set up. It’s a Fuji, no frills but it holds all my stuff easily. If there was more climbing on my route maybe I’d balance front and back better but I didn’t have a front rack at the moment
Heart 2 Comment 0

After leaving Manhattan I wound my way through the Bronx to Van Cortlandt. Even though I know this route by heart, I took a wrong turn and hike-a-biked on a bridle trail and ended up in Yonkers instead of Empire State Trail. Good start Om

Had a dried mango from my Jersey pocket to regroup then figured out a route that would eventually meet back up with the trail.


The trail is wonderful and peaceful. I guess everyone else was at work. 

Volunteer made birdhouses dot a section of the trail
Heart 2 Comment 0
Cool bird, not pictured: several deer I saw run across my path
Heart 3 Comment 0
A beautiful lake somewhere near Kitchawan
Heart 2 Comment 0
the dessert goal is being achieved
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

I rode only at party pace today. I’m coming off of an injury and also just relishing that I have literally nowhere to be and no obligations.

Once I got to Kitchawan I took some windy roads west over to Peekskill. I decided to stay indoors tonight because of expected lightning.

View of the Hudson from my balcony. Nice digs.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The rest of the late afternoon and early evening included stretching (my PT insisted I bring a roller stick. Hi Peter!), perusing local shops in town, and all in all taking the vibes in. I was back in my room for a lie down before it started thundering.

But is it as esteemed as the Rose Suchak ladder company?
Heart 2 Comment 0

Tomorrow will be a very short day, maybe 40-50 miles tops. Thanks for reading! 



Today's ride: 63 miles (101 km)
Total: 63 miles (101 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0