Viaydurg to Kunkeshwat - Mumbai to Goa - CycleBlaze

January 14, 2024

Viaydurg to Kunkeshwat

Not a lot of sleep due to a blaring TV in the hotel until 1am but people tolerate noise here and I am a visitor to their world.   An early start makes the heat easier so I was rolling before dawn.

Dawn
Heart 4 Comment 0

Easy day riding South to the coast.  I tried to find Dedgad Fort (there is not much of it left).   I did discover Misal Pav again, a sauce with peas poured over a sort of Bombay mix base, with finely chopped onion.

Fish drying
Heart 4 Comment 0
End of the road
Heart 2 Comment 0

Sadly 4 students died in the sea here a few weeks ago and so the beaches are shut.   Only paddling allowed.

Bike parked for the night
Heart 3 Comment 0


Today's ride: 35 miles (56 km)
Total: 397 miles (639 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Paul CalvertHope you have ear plugs for the noise Andy!? India's tolerance for noise is remarkable.
Wondering how you are coping with all the Hindi signs and thinking there must surely be an app that would scan and translate? Or does google maps suffice? All the best. Going to be -2 C here tomorrow.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesWe are currently in Yucatan, Mexico, where the noise tolerance level is off the charts. I seriously do not know how anybody here is not deaf by the age of 30, but when in Rome.....wear ear plugs.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Andy BuchanTo Steve Miller/GrampiesHi Paul and Steve, I am carrying ear plugs with me as last reserve! Even in UK I fit them in cinemas.
I am using google maps as a last resort but I do not mind getting a little lost and asking. Some have replied from Hindi to English using google translator.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago