The plan - Mumbai to Goa - CycleBlaze

The plan

My plan is to take my steel framed 1990s Giant Sierra MTB out to Mumbai in early January 2024 and then to ride South along the Indian coast.  Travelling light, no tent or cooking gear.  No detailed plan.

Back in 1996 I did a similar journey over a couple of months on a Linear recumbent and rode to the tip of India, going inland a couple of times, and then looping back North to Trivandrum before returning to Mumbai by train to fly home with the bike.   Unfortunately this trip will be much shorter and I am 30 years older so it will start at Mumbai and I will fly out from Goa.   Route unknown, sea to my right and land to my left.  I know I will get lost, so about 6-700 miles total?   If all goes well I may go inland to the western Ghats, or go further South.  I would like to see Hampi but I think it will be too far.

One reason for this trip is that back in 1996, by total chance, I found two fibreglass ship lifeboats that my father would have been involved in making at Watercraft on the Thames.  They still had the brass Watercraft plaques and date of build.  They were being used as fishing boats after being on an Italian ship which was probably scrapped in Mumbai.  I will try and find them again.

To make my trip happen I have to take the bike from UK to India as accompanied luggage. The bike is now in a cardboard bike box and Emirates will take it as part of my luggage allowance (they accept larger bike boxes than other airlines). It needs to be under 30kg and I have another 7kg allowance for hand luggage - more than enough.   I have added little wooden wheels to one corner of the box so I can can trundle it around as I will be travelling to Heathrow by a series of trains.  The wheels can be quickly removed - one end of the axle has an R clip.

This trip is very different to others that I have made.  On previous trips I have always had a local contact.  A place where I can leave my winter clothing or bike box until I fly home.   A local contact who can help with collection from the airport or whose telephone number I have in case of accident.  This time I am by myself. I have a hotel booked for my first night in Mumbai but I have had no response to my emails….but there is always some other hotel.

 

Wheels on bike box!
Heart 6 Comment 2
Steve Miller/GrampiesWhat a good idea!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Andy BuchanThe wheels are 80mm, made by a circular cutter. The axle is a piece of alloy tube about 10mm od and that goes through a bit of hosepipe. The hosepipe is cable tied to the box and is secure as on the inside of the box is a small wooden batten which the cable ties go around. The hosepipe is covered with tape so it does not snag. One end of the axle has an M8 bolt, the other is drilled for an R clip which I can pull out to remove axle and wheels once ready to check the box in.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Leslie HarrisThis journey sounds very exciting. I am envious and hope all goes well. Looking forward to the blog.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Dave MorganHi Andy,

You're giving me nostalgia. I also cycled from Mumbai to Goa in the '90s ('91, in my case), indirectly and passing through Bijapur and Hampi. It was my first ever cycle tour and riding out of Mumbai was both dirty (lorries belching black smoke until I looked native, except for white streaks where sweat had trickled) and memorable. I then rode down to the tip and back up to Goa.

I've done a couple of tours in India since but am opting for Sri Lanka this winter.

Looking forward to following along on your journey!

Cheers, Dave
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Andy BuchanTo Dave MorganThanks for your comments Dave, I am sure things have changed a lot since you cycled through but the people are still wonderfully friendly
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Dave MorganTo Andy BuchanYes, I cycled from Darjeeling to Kanniya Kumari in 2013 and some hilly stuff in Himachal Pradesh and Kashmir (Chandigarh to Srinagar) a couple of years later. I have a hankering to go north from Mumbai, across Gujerat and into Rajasthan. Maybe up to Srinagar to link up two previous tours.

But Canada, where I now live, has had a bit of a falling out with India after India assassinated someone in Canada. Relations were tense for a while, and Modhi has a tendency to stir things up. It might not be the best time for a Canadian in India. And Sri Lanka seems a compelling alternative.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Ian BarlowCan’t help feeling the box wheels are a little over engineered Andy.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago