Kunkeshwar to Bhogwe - Mumbai to Goa - CycleBlaze

January 15, 2024

Kunkeshwar to Bhogwe

A fast few miles on an empty NH4 to Malwan where it got busy and I took a sideroad towards the coast. The road turned sharply and gave me a beautiful vista over many small boats in the harbour of the bay.  The photo in no way gives it justice.

Malwan bay
Heart 2 Comment 0

I pushed on the sand past on old temple to get to the next road,

Old temple
Heart 2 Comment 0

I don’t know if I was going the wrong way along a one way street through the town but it certainly felt like it and by mistake I started to leave the town.  I doubled back as I wanted to cycle along the Devbag peninsular.  Lots of homestays and tourist places with more being built but no tourists.   At the end of the peninsular the only road was back to where I had come from but I found a small tourist boat and got a ride across the river estuary.

Boat to cross river
Heart 2 Comment 0
En-route
Heart 2 Comment 0
This is where we landed
Heart 3 Comment 1
Spencer StinchcombeHi there Looks like you're having a great time. You must stop going down these dead end roads and having to cycle all the way back. Just thought I tell you I Had sticky toffee pudding with custard.
For my dessert tonight. Just thought you might like to know that. Keep up your excellent blog And keep the pictures coming .be safe
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

To get off the beach there was only a steep track which levelled off and slowly improved as it passed a few small houses, to take me back to a deserted NH4.    I decided to carry on South which gave me a few miles of climbing but somehow I came off NH4 and dropped down to the coast on a dead end road.   At 46 miles by this stage and I did not fancy the long climb out so I asked about homestays.  The one on the road was too expensive but I got pointed to another, the only access being a half mile push along the beach.  It is in a beautiful position.  I had to fill in the foreign guest register.   The last entry was in 2017.  But at least he had been here the year before that and had returned.

Where I am is only about a mile across the water from the end of the Devbag peninsular but my route here was much longer 

Where I am staying is behind the trees
Heart 3 Comment 0

Sadly there are still signs of oil particles on the golden sand.

Today's ride: 46 miles (74 km)
Total: 443 miles (713 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0