To Mumbai - Mumbai to Goa - CycleBlaze

January 3, 2024 to January 4, 2024

To Mumbai

Helen gave me a lift to Taunton station where I discovered the train was late due to flooding.  In fact the line was closed between Bridgwater and Bristol which meant extra changes at Westbury and Reading.  The wheels on the bike box earned their keep but I really feel I should apologise in public  to the man with the walking stick on the down escalator at Reading station.  I had to carry the bike down the escalator and he nipped in front of me and then stopped just one step ahead.   As the escalator carried me downwards a step hit the back of the box and pushed it forwards into him.   Luckily it was only a short escalator.   He made a lot of noise about it but thankfully did not fall.

The flight to Mumbai went well and by the time I had cleared immigration (my fingers just would not work on their finger print machine) the bike was miraculously at luggage reclaim sitting on a trolley.

I had booked Hotel Broadway at Coloba in Mimbai city and a driver picked me up.  They knew I was bringing a bike but no way would the box fit in the car so on the roof it went.   Luckily I had brought 4m of thin rope with me.  In the past I have had to use trouser belts to secure hang gliders on hire cars

I decided to book 2 nights at Hotel Broadway as I felt pretty shattered and I still needed a Sim card and some shirts.   Colaba is a Muslim area of Mumbai with mutton the main dish at the local restaurant.  Thankfully here there were vegetable side dishes, so channa masala and chipatis before crashing out.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 2
Leslie HarrisThe box held up well Andy.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Andy BuchanYes, I was sorry to see it go but another set of wheels would be easy to make
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0