Mérida - Medellín - Spring in Iberia - CycleBlaze

April 17, 2024 to April 18, 2024

Mérida - Medellín

April 18

First a detail of  utmost importance that I forgot to include in yesterday's journal! We got the crushing call from the bicycle shop informing Janos that the part he needed was not available in all of Mérida, probably not in all of Spain. What a disappointment! That was the end of the bicycle part of the tour for Janos. We considered our options, we could either bale and drive home from Mérida, or else I could continue cycling with Rachael and Scott while Janos drove the sag wagon. I would have good company, but it wouldn't be the same. We decided on the latter plan, which wouldn't be all bad since it would give him extra time with his drone and more time to see the sights. That was the plan.

This morning the sh*t hit the fan. I got up after a night of severe diarrhea, nausea and abdomminal pain. There was to be no departure at 9:30 or group photo. I couldn't even leave the room. Janos went to the pharmacy and let them advise him on what would be best for me. The pills stopped the diarrhea and although I was still  feeling terribly nauseated and weak, we thought it would be safe to move on to our next booking in Medellín. By car, of course. I would have loved to stay in our comfortable hotel but there were no more vacancies.

We got to Medellín and Scott and Rachael had already arrived by bike. After a short time with them at the table, I retired to our room. The day didn't end well, and when I wasn't in bed, I was in the bathroom. The small room wasnt fancy, but it was adequate and we decided to cancel our next booking and stay another day.

There was nothing Janos could do for me so while I slept he went out and made a video of this large Islamic fort, built in the mid-9th century on a site already occupied by the Romans and Visigoths. The video is at the end of the page.

Our room had a view to Medellín's castillo and Teatro Romano.
Heart 2 Comment 0

April 19

After another rough night, I wanted to see a doctor. Our very kind and helpful hotel people called emergency and a team of paramedics didn't take long getting there. They hardly fit in the room with their bulky bags of equipment. They gave me a shot to relieve the nausea, told me not to take the pills Janos got from the pharmacy the day before and recommended an electrolyte solution of which I was to drink a liter every 24 hours for a week. This was all using my very basic Spanish which wasn't up to the job at all and the paramedics' English was no better. I then fell into a deep sleep.

I don't remember, maybe I tried to eat some toast. The electrolyte solution was hard to get down and my conscientous efforts to drink enough water caused more cramps and a dash for the toilet. I slept most of the day and and at times the nausea was less intense but it returned by evening in full force. I was feeling wretched and desperate. So we were off to the hospital to see a doctor in Don Benito, a ten minute ride by car. My idea was that I needed to be put on an iv to hydrate and introduce the right medication. Our doctor knew no English and we made do as well as we could with Google Translator. She recommended some probiotics, to continue with the electrolyte drink and prescribed an antibiotic. No diagnosis. That was it but I was feeling hopeful.

Here is yesterday's video.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 9
Kathleen JonesOy! Who needs that on a bike tour? Sorry you had to go through this, Suzanne.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesKeep us posted on how you are feeling, Suzanne. Dodie, the former nurse, is concerned for you. Steve asks- is Janos' problem in the rear hub? and what is the make and model of his rear hub? Steve had a similar issue a week or so ago (pedals wouldn't turn) but he was lucky and things resolved after a bit of messing about with the shifter, turning the power on and off, and gently forcing the pedals to rotate.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Steve Miller/GrampiesI am doing much much better now, as you can see by the fact that I am again journaling. Thanks for your concern. Continuation tomorrow.

Whatever it was, it was in the rear hub, and it was broken. Bad luck.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Gregory GarceauBroken bike, nausea and abdominal pain--those things would send me to the nearest airport to get the heck out of there. No need to be a hero. You guys earned your bike touring cred long ago.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Gregory GarceauIf I had been in good enough shape to get to an airport, I would have flown. But transportation to an airport, flying and getting home from the airport in Munich would have been an inconceivable effort. I had unbearable nausea and needed to have an accessible bathroom close by at all times. Being a hero was my last thought.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Karen PoretHorrors! Not being home or close by a medical personnel you trust in this situation is very frightening. At least you were not without Janos.
Do pray it is not something serious. You are a trooper..
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Karen PoretHi Karen, yes, it was very frightening. And yes, Janos was there. He was my rock.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
John O SullivanOh Wow. That is a disaster. I have picked up the winter vomiting bug myself last weekend and had two rough days, but in the comfort of home. On a bike tour, that is a nightmare. Gute Besserung!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Suzanne GibsonTo John O SullivanThanks so much, John!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago