Medellín - Trujillo - Spring in Iberia - CycleBlaze

April 20, 2024 to April 22, 2024

Medellín - Trujillo

April 20

What comes now is a further description of my odyssee. I have included a lot of detail, but not all by any means, and it might be tedious reading to hear how sick I was. I don't like to indulge in drama, but these were very dark moments and writing about it has been therapeutic.

By morning I was no better, but we had to move on. Unfortunately they had no more rooms where we were staying. The hotel hosts had been extremely kind and helpful and I wished we could have kept our room.

 After an hour in the car we were in Trujillo where we were already booked for a night. Scott and Rachael were there, too, as this was part of the original itinerary. We didn't see them, I wasn't leaving the room, but we were in close contact the whole time, as with Susan. They were giving me tremendous moral support. Again I slept all day and at times felt better when the blinding nausea subsided. I would then think, now I am getting better, I am recovering.  I still couldn't eat and was trying hard to swallow the electrolyte drink and enough water to keep me hydrated.

April 21

Not feeling a lot better, but I was feeling a little more stable in the morning when Rachael and Scott stopped by before cycling off. They had a problem of their own. One of Rachael's brakes wasn't working and as it was Sunday there was nothing they could do about it. They decided Rachael would have to ride using just one brake and hoped the terrain would be flat enough. The obvious solution was that Janos, while I slept all day anyway, would drive Rachael with her bike to the next point on the itinerary, a short hop by car. 

With some persuasion they accepted the offer. So while Scott cycled on to the Park at Monfragüe, Rachael and Janos drove there. We didn't realize immediately that in Monfragüe there wouldn't be a bicycle shop either. The ensuing plan was that on the following day Janos get Rachael in Monfragüe and drive her to Plasencia where there would be bike shops. Having a car was not in the original plan - if you have been able to follow all the ins and outs of the past days - but it certainly turned out to be a boon.

We decided on staying a second night where we were and then move into an apartment for the next four days to give us more time to consider our options and for me to recover. I wasn't yet in any way well enough to start the drive home.

April 22

The night didn't bring the improvement I had been hoping for. Worse case scenarios were passing through my mind, I was frightened, felt trapped, didn't know how I was going to get home or proper medical treatment. In the morning my body was again fighting overwhelming nausea and stomach cramps. Off to the next emergency hospital, hoping to see a doctor, but we were received by another paramedic. I got another injection to relieve the nausea and the advice that I be patient, this should be better in three to five days. If not, they gave us the address of the University Hospital in Cáceres. This was beginning to feel Kafkaesque. Where are the doctors? I was awfully weak by now, hanging on to Janos' arm when we got out of the car.

Although we had to check out of the hotel by noon and Janos wanted to give Rachael a lift to Plasencia in the afternoon, we decided to see if we could get help in the University Hospital, not that far away, just a 45-minute drive. The university at Cáceres was giant and signs showing the way to the hospital were absent. Navigating using Google Maps, we found the enormous hospital and I went in with my referal. I was told to take a seat in the waiting room along with about 40 others who wanted to see a doctor. It was then that I decided I didn't care how sick I was, I couldn't do this, I wasn't going down that rabbit hole - and I fled. 

So, we drove back to our hotel, checked out, got the bikes back on the rack, and found our new lodgings which turned out to be brilliant, a real stroke of luck. But Janos was on a tight schedule and was now off to give a hand to the Andersons. I know we didn't "have" to, they always find their own solutions and are extremely resourceful and self-sufficient, come what may. But we very much wanted to. 

I was suppoed to be drinking a liter a day of that horrible orange electrolyte solution. Just looking at it turned my stomach. I decided to stop, and whether for that reason or by coincidence, my stomach bloat stopped and I began to feel better. I'm not saying that was what was making me sick, but it wasn't helping to force feed myself with it. In the evening I began feeling much better. I wasn't well but no longer desperate, things seemed to have taken a turn for the better.

I'll stop here, the post is long enough. But this isn't meant to be a cliffhanger. As I write this, two days later, I am able to eat, although I'm sticking to a very limited diet still, I have no more nausea and no more stomach pain.  I'm going for little walks to regain my strength, and I have enough energy to write all this.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 24
Nancy GrahamI just now have the time to catch up on your travels and find that you have been terribly ill. We returned home from a 5 night camping outing two days ago, and will be going again for 3 night this weekend. So I did get behind in following you.
At this time is sounds like you are somewhat on the mend, but what an ordeal to suffer through. Please do keep us updated about your improving health and the remainder of your trip. Thinking about you and hoping that all is well - and that maybe you know what got you!!
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Kathleen JonesGlad you’re feeling better. What a thing to go through.
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
ann and steve maher-wearyOh my gosh, what a nightmare! I truly do hope that you are feeling better. What an ordeal! Yes it was fortuitous that you had a car. Sending you positive vibes that the worst is over. Safe travels
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesOnce or twice per year I get an attack of vertigo, and it's horrible. It's not the same as what you had, but it allows me to imagine how you were. To have this happen on the road is a real nightmare.

When and if you have enough strength, I am still curious about the Janos bike problem. My rear hub is acting up right now - jamming the pedals with no forward or backward motion possible. It's very unlikely to be the same problem, but I'm still curious - like about what brand and type of hub Janos had. Related topics, but again nothing compared to your illness, are whether it would have been at all possible to buy a complete replacement wheel. Bike shops (In Spain!) don't seem to stock that kind of stuff, plus it's not just the wheel and hub, it's the shifter for it. One time in Louisiana I did consider buying a whole bike just to get the wheel, and that happened again, at Noirmoutier, in France!
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Nancy GrahamThanks, Nancy! I'll continue posting and keep you informed.
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Kathleen JonesYup, not what you want to experience on a bike tour! Too bad we lost so many days on the bike, but up until then it was a fantastic tour.
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Suzanne GibsonTo ann and steve maher-wearyThanks for the positive vibes and good wishes! I'm a lot better now.
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Steve Miller/GrampiesI'll get back to you tomorrow, Steve, when I can get the information from Janos. Pedals jamming is exactly what happened. The first couple of times Janos could get them going again. What kind of hub etc tomorrow.
Hope the weather warms up for you guys!
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Tricia GrahamCycling touring is so great when you are well however when you get sick nothing feels better than home. I do hope your improvement continues
Best wishes Tricia
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Karen PoretI went to bed dreaming of your tale, Suzanne. Even though we do not personally know each other at all, your wonderful photos, blogs and information are what started me on the cycle blaze site in the first place a year ago. Your tales of this ordeal are not too long at all, except the “I am all better” has yet to be read. It will be very interesting to finally discover what this actually was! Still praying nothing really serious; you have been through enough already…
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Kathleen ClassenHow sorry we are to read this. Such a nightmare for you. We are delighted things are trending in the right direction, but what a debilitating and frightening experience. You must have felt so vulnerable. So glad you had such a good support system, but where were the doctors when you really needed one? Take it easy and continue to get your strength back.
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesTo Suzanne GibsonThanks Suzanne! Based on your preliminary info, we are waiting right now on bike shops to open here in Orleans. But we expect it will be like your doctor thing - not possible to get immediate and good service. We would then strike off tomorrow toward Chartres, and hope the thing does not lock up in the middle of nowhere!
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Suzanne GibsonGood luck! Janos now tells me I had completely misunderstood. The pedals turned freely in both directions but didn't turn the wheels. (I swear he said something else at the time.) Anyway, he is now off flying his drone and when I asked last night, he said he didn't know what kind of hub but would look today. Our bikes, which our hosts carried in for us, are somewhere off in the courtyard, I haven't seen them since our arrival at our B&B. If it's pertinent information, I hope we can get it to you in time.
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Tricia GrahamThanks for the good wishes, Tricia!
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Karen PoretSuch kind words, thank you!
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Kathleen ClassenThanks, Kathleen! I am ready for travel again, but not necessarily by bike yet, and tomorrow we start the drive home.
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Rachael AndersonI’m so glad you’re feeling better and are writing about it! I can’t believe Janos still came and picked me up with everything going on. Thank you both so much!
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Steve Miller/GrampiesGot the dope now: it's a Shimano MT410-B rear hub. I'm not sure about the definition of the part, but the translation I found was retaining pawl. (Freilauf Sperrklinke in German). It works on the principle of a ratchet. Janos says it usually costs about 30 Euros and is easy to replace, no need for a new wheel.
Reply to this comment
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesTo Suzanne GibsonAh, that seems to be a 12 speed and quite different from mine. Two bike shops today said they had no time to look at it, and besides if it is working now then what do I expect them to do?

So tomorrow we leave the known world of Loire a Velo and strike off cross country to Chartres, on some algorithm generated track! Could end up walking ... it's 81 km.
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Janos KerteszTo Steve Miller/GrampiesViel Glück!
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesNice try, Janos. I am dead in the water, after ..33 km. Now at train station looking at options!
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Steve Miller/GrampiesOh, no! So sorry! We have our fingers crossed!
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesTo Suzanne GibsonThe bike is on the operating table right now, in Orleans. Could have a - wait for it - broken pawl. Stay tuned!
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Steve Miller/GrampiesPawl after all, same as with Janos
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago