Grand Forks Trails - PedalPushin “The Final Two” 2023 - CycleBlaze

September 3, 2023

Grand Forks Trails

Today we had our sights set on the cycling trails in Grand Forks, North Dakota and we weren’t disappointed.

Other than the temperatures, excellent ride!
Heart 0 Comment 0


Last night I had some time finding routes, bike paths, and scouring bike maps to put together my own map of possibilities. RidewithGPS is one tool as is the TrailLink app. After downloading various gpx files, I used an online tool to combine those tracks into a composite file which was then transferred to my phone and subsequently sent to my watch. The result was a fantastic navigational tool so I didn’t need to use my phone throughout today’s ride as I simply looked at my watch. The WorkOutdoors app on my watch even notified when I got off track. Wow!

Fountain on the Minnesota side of the trail, short segment
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

The actual ride was quite enjoyable as the Grand Forks community has strung together a myriad of dedicated cycle paths and bike lanes which allows you to get anywhere. We mainly stayed near the Red River though we also went out into farm land to cycle some county roads. Probably the only “notable” site was a sculpture that showed the height of various floods from years past which were slightly difficult to understand as we were cycling in high 80s temperatures as flood waters seemed quite remote. 

Impressive flood protection
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heading to farm land
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sunflowers … remember fields of those in Kansas
Heart 0 Comment 0
Marker indicating height of floods
Heart 0 Comment 0

Excellent riding day and then we loaded the rental van and headed west towards Bismarck. 

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 45 miles (72 km)
Total: 159 miles (256 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0