Day 27: Delafield, WI to Milwaukee, WI - Younger on Two Wheels 2021 - CycleBlaze

July 3, 2021

Day 27: Delafield, WI to Milwaukee, WI

I made it! There were times a couple of weeks ago when I thought I wouldn’t, but I think I’ve known since I hit Iowa I was going to get here.

Today was a short 32 mile ride. Leaving Delafield I was on the Lake Country Trail – this took me past Pewaukee Lake:

Heart 0 Comment 0

I then wound through Waukesha, Brookfield, and Elm Grove – all familiar suburbs to me. It was starting to feel like home.

I had lunch in downtown Wauwatosa – where my wife and I lived for 7 years and bought our first home. After 25+ years of change not many of the business that used to be here remain – it was a Saturday and with the nearby farmer’s market it was pretty busy. ..and if you’re wondering, my bike is the pink one.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Just a few blocks away, I stopped and snapped a picture of our first house – a bungalow we bought in 1990. Looks almost exactly the same! Lots of good memories in that house, including the arrival of our daughter.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I commuted by bicycle part of the time we lived there to downtown, so the rest of my route was super-familiar – passing Miller Park, Harley-Davidson and other landmarks I remember. The final leg was on the Hank Aaron trail, and from this spot along the Menomonee River I could see the buildings of downtown:

Heart 0 Comment 0

Almost before I knew it I was at the lake. I found a spot and asked a stranger on a bench to take my picture. He turned out to be visiting for a wedding and was from … Denver! Small world.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Best track was “Things Can Only Get Better” by Howard Jones, which perfectly fit my mood rolling through Milwaukee.

I’m done with this ride, but there will be a few more posts with stats, observations, and things I’ve learned along the way – stay tuned!

Today's ride: 32 miles (51 km)
Total: 1,362 miles (2,192 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0