Day 26: Madison, WI to Delafield, WI - Younger on Two Wheels 2021 - CycleBlaze

July 2, 2021

Day 26: Madison, WI to Delafield, WI

Another beautiful day of Wisconsin trails! Sunshine and temps that stayed in the low to mid 70s made this day really pleasant!

I can’t say enough about Madison’s cycling infrastructure – it’s way beyond where Denver is (and I know Denver is considered pretty good). I don’t think I’m exaggerating when I say it’s approaching what some European cities have. It’s that good! Bike lanes and signals everywhere, an extensive trail network, with racks and bicycles just everywhere! Very impressive!

Leaving my hotel, I hopped on the Capitol City Trail which first took me along Lake Mendota (one of the two lakes that sandwich downtown Madison:

Heart 0 Comment 0

The trails led me out of town through ever decreasing density of neighborhoods. This trail had a nice separation from the street, and was very pleasant to ride:

Heart 0 Comment 0

After the urban trails, one long street led out to Cottage Grove, where I would hop onto the Glacial-Drumlin Trail – another of Wisconsin’s rail-to-trail routes. This was every bit as nice as yesterday’s trail with a lot of shade:

Heart 0 Comment 0

The countryside was mostly wild wetlands – fewer crop fields than yesterday. Robins, goldfinches and red-winged blackbirds were everywhere:

Heart 0 Comment 0

This video was my whole day:

Eventually I passed Lake Mills – a pretty area where my wife and I have vacationed before. It’s nice to be back in lake country!

Heart 0 Comment 0

I love living in Colorado, but you just don’t see this sort of scenery there:

Heart 0 Comment 0

Passing over the Rock River:

Heart 0 Comment 0

My journey on the Glacial-Drumlin eventually had to break off and head north. This was another trail that led from Dousman to Delafield through meadows of wildflowers.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I finished off the day with a fish-fry – a Wisconsin Friday tradition I haven’t had in many years!

My assistant principal from my school in Denver texted me mid-morning, wondering where I was. Turns out he was already in Delafield - his wife is from there. So after I arrived, we shared a couple of beers. Nice that both my school leaders turned out to cheer me on along my journey!

Heart 0 Comment 0

Two top tracks today that both boosted my ride at different times: “Little Death” by The Beths – a band out of New Zealand that has been one of my favorites the last couple years. And “Automaton” by Jamiroquai – just a good hard-pumping riding song.

Tomorrow is my victory lap with a short ride down to Milwaukee’s lakefront. Can’t wait!

Today's ride: 61 miles (98 km)
Total: 1,330 miles (2,140 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0