The Box! - Younger on Two Wheels 2023: Chesapeake Bay to Chicago - CycleBlaze

June 16, 2023

The Box!

I've never flown with a bike before, so this is a new experience for me. There are many options: expensive hard-cases, slightly less expensive soft-cases, & cardboard cases. Some cyclists opt to find a bike shop and get a box from a new bike and have it packed in there.

I opted for a company called BikeFlights. They make a (reusable) cardboard box that holds my bike with minimal disassembly. Once it's reached my destination, I can fold it up and ship it home for the next trip.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Our cat normally inspects EVERY box internally. This one was a bit too big for her, and she just seemed confused by it. 

This will go on the plane tomorrow, and (just) fits in the back of my SUV to get to the airport. I had the dealer who sold me my e-bike, MacKenzie Hardt of Hardt Family Cyclery in Aurora, CO pack it up for me, and it's now ready to go.

MacKenzie Hardt working on my e-bike
Heart 1 Comment 0

Since I've never done this before, I'm stressing out about it. I know lots of other people have, so I shouldn't worry, but I won't feel comfortable until the bike is back in my hands in Baltimore, and tucked into the back of my rental car.

I fly out tomorrow morning (Saturday). Expect an update Saturday night or Sunday morning.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0