Wrap up and final thoughts - Younger on Two Wheels 2023: Chesapeake Bay to Chicago - CycleBlaze

July 16, 2023

Wrap up and final thoughts

After a day with friends in Milwaukee, I arrived back in Denver (via Amtrak) on Thursday morning. Tired, but glad to be done.

Here are some final observations about this ride:

  1. I took too much stuff again. I think I did better last year with this - and didn't have to send anything home. It may be partly because my trip started with a week of not-cycling and needing more street clothes. But also...
  2. I didn't use the drone. I intended to - but the first opportunities came with some rain. And further chances to use it might have taken more time than I wanted to spend. So I sent it home from Pittsburgh. I do admire the travel bloggers who shoot lots of video - but it's very time-consuming, both to make and then to edit. I think it's easier if you're cycling with someone, but I'm going to have to re-evaluate whether I really want to do more video content.
  3. The smoke was a bit of a factor in the first few days, but I'm grateful it moved on. Although I could see it in the air, I wasn't feeling affected vis-a-vis my lungs. I did speak with people who were. It's back now in Chicago & Milwaukee, so my timing was lucky.
  4. I got bored with the same scenery more quickly than I thought I would. Cycling on the C&O & GAP trails was pretty, but (especially on the GAP) it was mile after mile of just woods. Nice for a day, but multiple days it got a bit old, and I found myself wanting more to look at. Conversely once out in Ohio & Indiana farm country, that got old as well. 
  5. The C&O needs some trail work. With the recent rains, two of my days were extremely muddy and wet - less water coming from the sky and more just splashing up onto me and the bike. Muddy puddles were impossible to tell if they were an inch deep or 5 inches deep, and there were some gotcha holes that were deeper than I thought. After a couple days of that, my front wheel needed trueing. I hadn't really expected that - most reviews of the trail didn't mention the conditions being that bad (some locals told me this was as bad as they had seen it.) Parts were newly resurfaced and those were great - but there are some sections that really need that done.
  6. America's network of regional trails & routes is growing fast. The largest is the U.S. Bicycle Route System (USBRS). There were way more trails than I had realized, and some are really pleasant. That said, what passes for trails in some communities is little more than designated sidewalks. I used RideWithGPS to route, and it generally did a decent job - trying to put me on designated cycle paths and routes - although it hadn't been updated to include the four washed out bridges I encountered, which I believe happened in 2018.
  7. I didn't have any really unsafe encounters with motorists, unlike previous rides. A few cars passed a bit closer than I liked (especially when nobody was on the other side, so why not move over more?) but I don't think anyone was closer than the 3 feet most states require. On busier roads I had 3 flashing lights going in the rear as well as a safety triangle, so it would be hard NOT to notice me.

Final Numbers:

  • Riding (non-rest) Days: 16
  • Total Miles: 1025
  • Bicycle Mechanical Issues: 2
  • Flat Tires: 0 (Schwalbe Marathons FTW!)
  • Mosquito Bites: 2 (One was right where my riding shorts end above my knee, so it kept itching and didn't go away until I got home!)

This is the third year I've taken a solo tour. I did the middle section of the country (Denver to Milwaukee) in 2021, and now the eastern part this year. That leaves the western third - the one with more hills. If I decide to tackle that sometime I will definitely need to train more than I have.

Thanks to everyone who followed along!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 2
John PescatoreOn boring scenery, did you mean "...especially the C&O" vs "...especially the GAP?" My wife would never do the C&O Towpath again - she said it was 3 days of being in a green tunnel. I've done the entire GAP, felt it had much more variety (city, green tunnel, riverview, industrial, etc.) and none of the green tunnels lasted much more than 10 miles.

As a local MD/DC cyclist, the Towpath today is lightyears better than it was 20 years or so ago when my wife and I did it. Much resurfacing, and the WMRR alternative have been huge improvements, but as you found out close to 1/2 the length is still not far from being what the mules used to plod along on!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
John AydelotteTo John PescatoreHey John - I'm probably blurring bits of both together in my memory, to be honest. The first day of C&O I was quite interested in the locks, lock-houses, and canal vs. river views on both sides. But by lock 30 or so, it just wasn't as interesting, and my attention was focused much more on the trail itself as muddy wet obstacle rather than route.

There was one day I think I was getting a bit tired of "green tunnel" and that was Frostburg to Ohiopyle. There were some river views and bridges, but only a couple of towns (like Meyersdale & Rockwood). It was a pretty pleasant day, as I recall - the trail was something I no longer had to worry about as it was nice and even. It just seemed like fairly long stretches of nothing but trees. When there were views, the smoke kept them from being as interesting as they might have been, and that may have detracted from the experience as well.

Never having done a trail like this before, now that I think about it, the very mild grades with no real hills to climb keep the views a bit more in check. Last year, I remember stopping at a lot of hilltops and looking around to sort of see where I was and where I'd been, and gauge my progress. You don't get that on these trails so much.

I'm still glad for the experience - you're right, a good chunk of the C&O isn't much better than when mules were the primary traffic. It's clearly being improved substantially (the area around Harpers Ferry was great) but it's going to take a few years.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago