My week in Chincoteague - Younger on Two Wheels 2023: Chesapeake Bay to Chicago - CycleBlaze

June 23, 2023

My week in Chincoteague

The box took some damage - probably because I overloaded it. It ended up being 86 lbs. I waited in baggage claim for it to emerge on the conveyor belt, then notice it sitting by a roll-up door. I hadn't even seen them bring it out.

I was pleasantly surprised by the bus to the rental-car terminal. The driver saw I had a bike and hopped out and pointed me to the third door in the back where there was a rack large enough to hold the box.

Heart 1 Comment 0

My week with family was fun. I was joined by my father, his wife, my sister and brother-in-law, and 3 of my father's wife's children along with one spouse. I'm not sure what that makes me to them - step-siblings or something like that. It was sort of a "Modern Family" setup.

We rented a large house on the island, which turned out to be ideally located in a peaceful spot. A canal runs north-to-south through part of the island and this house backed up to it. 

Wildlife, especially birds was almost always visible.

Great Egret
Heart 0 Comment 0
American White Ibis
Heart 0 Comment 0

The house had a large deck, pool, and a small dock on the canal.

Heart 1 Comment 0

The dock gave us a good spot to try catching crabs - something I had never done before. It was pretty easy with some raw chicken on a string.

Too small, so he went back, but he definitely wanted to fight us first!
Heart 1 Comment 0

We ended up catching enough to make a nice batch of crab cakes. But first, they needed picking. This was more work than I had anticipated!

Crab picking
Heart 0 Comment 0

But the end result was definitely worth it!

Fresh crab cakes!
Heart 1 Comment 0

We also had to check out our family cemetery. It seemed well maintained - a neighbor who can see it from the back of her house told us she thinks of the graves as "her people" and cuts the grass semi-regularly. It's nice she does that even though she doesn't know anyone there. 

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

We didn't have great luck with timing and weather. The first day we were here was Father's Day, so we figured the beach would be packed. The next day was apparently Free for Everyone day, and Juneteenth, so the beach was packed again. 

We went on Tuesday, and it was very windy and cloudy - not terribly nice. Wednesday turned out to be a gale blowing from the north all day. Rain was coming down at a 45-degree angle. We didn't make it back until Friday, when we did get some sunshine in the morning - more rain after that.

I'll leave you with a few pictures of the islands... My ride starts from Baltimore Airport tomorrow.

Assateague wild ponies
Heart 2 Comment 0
Assateague Beach
Heart 2 Comment 0
Assateague Lighthouse
Heart 1 Comment 0
The house my family used to own - it was sold in the 1970s
Heart 1 Comment 1
I had a birthday!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0