Day 8: Rest day in Pittsburgh - Younger on Two Wheels 2023: Chesapeake Bay to Chicago - CycleBlaze

July 1, 2023

Day 8: Rest day in Pittsburgh

In which I do very little riding but much bike-cleaning

The place I'm staying is interesting - it's called Traveler's Rest. They cater to cyclists, but it seems like someone renovated an old hotel and modernized it for today. 

It's located in Pittsburgh's South Side neighborhood. This seems fairly industrial, but also quickly gentrifying. Old warehouses and factories are being turned into stores and lofts. 

None of the rooms here have bathrooms in the room - all are across the hall, but are not shared with other guests - a bit odd, but since I could leave my stuff in there, it was fine. There is also a cool "common room" on the first floor where everyone staying can hang out, have breakfast or chat after dinner.

Heart 1 Comment 0

Since I hadn't officially finished the GAP Trail yesterday, I headed across one of the bridges (most can be used by cyclists) to downtown. The end of the trail is right at the point (like 20 feet from the water) of Pittsburgh's downtown triangle. At this point, the Monongahela and Allegheny rivers merge, forming the start of the Ohio River.

Heart 1 Comment 0

There's a fountain at this point, and lots of nice views.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Acrisure Stadium - home of the Pittsburgh Steelers
Heart 0 Comment 0

The actual point of completion is set into the ground on the far side of the fountain.

Gap Trail Complete!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Downtown Pittsburgh from the point
Heart 0 Comment 0

On the way back, the bridge and Southside Trail provided some other nice views!

Point State Park from the Southside
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Downtown Pittsburgh
Heart 1 Comment 0
The hills on the south side are pretty steep!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Once that was done, I headed back to my hotel. They have a work-room and I spent some time cleaning the bike (there's still mud!) and re-lubricating my chain. 

Then I spent the rest of the afternoon working on these posts - they are a bunch of work, so I hope y'all appreciate it!  ;-)

Tomorrow isn't super long (59) but has over 3k feet of climbing and it's going to be hot and muggy, so .... we'll see how I do!

Today's ride: 8 miles (13 km)
Total: 376 miles (605 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Thomas SabourinSharon and I are enjoying your posts. We sat Fixture yesterday to watch the Brewers play the Pirates in Pittsburgh. We have a friend who always says "look for people you know!" when we're watching sports. We didn't see you. But the Brewers won after a rain delay!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago