Day 7: Ohiopyle, PA to Pittsburgh, PA - Younger on Two Wheels 2023: Chesapeake Bay to Chicago - CycleBlaze

June 30, 2023

Day 7: Ohiopyle, PA to Pittsburgh, PA

In which I manage NOT to hit a deer

This was a long day, but a good one overall. Probably the most beautiful riding so far. The smoke started out in "unhealthy" status, but improved as the day went on.

I rolled out of Ohiopyle near 8:00 - with 77 miles to go I wanted an early start.

Youghiogheny River at Ohiopyle
Heart 0 Comment 0

The view was pretty much all trees with occasional views to the river. There were a LOT of deer around here and more than once, a deer came prancing out onto the trail right in front of me, then bounded away. I wonder how many cyclists have hit deer through here.

First deer that wasn't afraid of me
Heart 0 Comment 0

I got tired of taking regular pictures of the river, so I tried some videos...

At Connellsville, I stopped to talk to one of the Trail Ambassadors. There are a few of these on the GAP. They always ask you to sign their book, as it somehow gets them more funding. This guy had been doing this a number of years. He even asked if there were any improvements needed on the stretch through town. He said the smoke had his wife unable to leave the house, and it was also bothering him quite a bit. I ended up chatting far longer than I had planned...

Heart 0 Comment 0

At McKeesport, the Youghiogheny River entered the Monongahela River, and that's what I began following. This was a larger river with actual river boat traffic.

Heart 0 Comment 0

The cycle-bridge I was on said I was entering Duquesne which I think is right next to Pittsburgh.

Heart 0 Comment 0

From another cycle-bridge there is an osprey nesting site that is visible. My camera couldn't zoom in all that far, but my phone surprised me. by getting closer. Clearly the young osprey was learning to fly, as it would jump and hover and flap before landing again.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Hey, I'm in Pittsburgh! 5 miles to go...

Heart 0 Comment 0

I got to my stay around 4pm and checked in. This place was full of cyclists - a couple from New Hampshire, a family of four from Wisconsin. Nice to be among friendly people...

Tomorrow is a rest day, but I'll probably take some pictures of downtown Pittsburgh to share.

Today's ride: 77 miles (124 km)
Total: 368 miles (592 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0