Day 11: Ravenna, OH to Oberlin, OH - Younger on Two Wheels 2023: Chesapeake Bay to Chicago - CycleBlaze

July 4, 2023

Day 11: Ravenna, OH to Oberlin, OH

In which I see a lot of US flags in yards

Happy Fourth of July, everyone! I hope you are enjoying time with family and friends. For the 3rd year in a row, I am on the road.

I slept well in Ravenna, despite the somewhat creepy B&B vibe (former convent). Both New Castle and Ravenna had somewhat creepy B&B experiences - kind of glad to be past them.

The morning was cool and cloudy. Just a couple miles in, I hit a rail-trail heading out of town. This one turned out to be very well built, and provided smooth car-free riding for 7 miles.

A few miles later, my route brought me to Cuyahoga Falls National Park. 

Heart 1 Comment 0

As soon as I passed that sign, I went down a winding road that dropped quite a bit. I love a good downhill, and one of these got me to 40mph on the bike. But all through my head, I was thinking there would be a painful uphill at the end. 

Since I was here, I was hoping to see some falls, but that was not to be. I think the best ones were several miles north of me. I did see a farm with fenced in ducks, which I know people do, but hadn't seen. Do they stay on their own, or need to have wings clipped? Not sure...

Heart 0 Comment 0

Suddenly, I was experiencing deja-vu! Doesn't this look like the C&O Canal Towpath trail I did last week? Yes. Yes, it does!

Heart 1 Comment 0

It's actually the Ohio & Erie Canal Towpath Trail - very similar, but this was the first one west of the Appalachians. Here's another heron, just like the C&O, but he didn't want to turn and look at me.

Heart 1 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltThat great blue heron looks rather intensely concentrated on lunch swimming along down there.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
John AydelotteJust as I got there, he took a stab at something to his right, but came up empty. As soon as my camera was out, he was motionless like this for a while - I'm sure you're right.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

And there were also some pretty views of the Cuyahoga River

Heart 0 Comment 0

Alas, I was correct! There were three somewhat painful climbs back out of the valley. One was so bad I dismounted and walked part of it. No, I'm not ashamed.

Once back at the top, however, the rest of the route was pretty flat. I did find a Chipotle open in Medina for lunch. Sometimes finding things open on holidays is hard - today wasn't too bad.

The rest of the route went through mostly farmland, so there wasn't much to see. Last year I ran into two parades - this year, none. My wife had an interesting strategy she suggested, involving finding a small town with people barbecuing in the park, swooping in, and nabbing a free burger, before riding away before they could stop me. Unfortunately, I never saw a park picnic going on, so I couldn't try it. I did see a lot of homes with full driveways, so I assume there were lots of gatherings - just not in parks.

I got to Oberlin close to 4pm. Hot, dusty and tired, but it was a pretty good day. Tomorrow is a bit shorter over to Fremont, OH. It's going to be another warm day in the upper 80s, so I'll take my time.

Today's ride: 69 miles (111 km)
Total: 563 miles (906 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0