Day 1: Half Moon Bay to Pigeon Point - Western North America - 2005 - CycleBlaze

May 18, 2005

Day 1: Half Moon Bay to Pigeon Point

Arggghhh! Brutal weather to start my trip. Not an especially good omen.

A late, record storm has been pounding the coast with 30+ mph winds and sheets of rain. I struggled to make the 20 miles from Half Moon Bay to Pigeon Point and barely got in before dark - - - soaking wet. I was hugely grumpy with the guy at the desk. He made the mistake of offering some bit of wisdom like, "Sure is awful weather we're having." Here I was standing at the counter - still with my bike helmet on - dripping pools of water on the floor.

My mood improved considerably upon finding two other cyclists at the cottage. Raffi - from Cincinati and New York - was just finishing a cross-country tour. Audra - also from New York - was doing a two-week Pacific Coast ride. I laid all of my wet stuff on the kitchen floor to dry. We talked late, but I was exhausted from little sleep the night before and the long day's journey. So I headed off to the dorm room and quickly fell asleep with the wind and rain pelting the windows.

Pigeon Point Lighthouse and Hostel
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 20 miles (32 km)
Total: 20 miles (32 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0