Day 9 - Ending at Reedsburg, WI - Wisconsin on the Kick-back - CycleBlaze

August 13, 2018

Day 9 - Ending at Reedsburg, WI

Rode on Great Sauk State Trail

This stay at Cedarberry Inn is my first unscheduled motel stay, and with now being behind schedule, tonight will be my unplanned second - in Reedsburg. But I need to get yesterday's report done first, and got up at 5:00am for that. Took a break at 7:00am for my motel breakfast. Wrapped up the report, packed, and was on my way at 10:36am.

It'd been foggy earlier, but was a sunny morning now. I rode back east on US-12 a short ways to get to the Great Sauk State Trail, which I'd take north. A diagonal path through town, then it follows along the Wisconsin River. At 11:17am, I left the trail near CR-Z. The trail continues for another mile, but I don't think there's a way to get to a road there.

A mile west on CR-Z, then north on US-12 to West Baraboo was the plan. Along CR-Z near US-12 is where I took my first break (at 11:30am), in the shade of a tree by a cemetery. There was enough shoulder along US-12 for me, and the highway was flat. Though I read and saw that there was a bluff ahead.

Noon report: 7.4 miles.

I didn't take me long to realize that my low gear wasn't low enough for this hill. So it was a walking climb. At least, I didn't have to wear my helmet. Part way up (at 12:35pm), I found a place along the highway with some shade. At 12:50pm, I was rested enough to continue. Made it to the top at 1:06pm! There is a pull-off here, with a little shade also. 

I was back riding the bike at 1:10pm, and it was fun. Not a speeding downhill, but a nice coast which was on a new wide shoulder. That came to a halt at 1:18pm, in front of a sign stating, "Bicycles Prohibited". This section of highway is new construction, and I guess they decided to make it a freeway. Too new to be shown on my bicycling map. Green Valley Campground, where I'd planned to stay last night is ahead, and I see now I wouldn't have been able to get there anyway (legally). At least this prohibited sign was where there is an option to get off the highway, and not where the new construction had started!

Only one option for leaving the highway: west on Lehman Road. Lehman Road, and later country roads, had me going down and up and down. At least there were places to stop for breaks in the shade. One lovely place was on Hatchery Road next to the Baraboo River - Giese Park. I took a break there at 2:24pm to study my map, and to text a message to Kris for Reedsburg motels information.

At 2:53pm I was on WI-136 for a short stretch, then turned onto Pleasant Valley Road, following my at-home waypoints routing. The road is well named, and I had farmers waving to me as I went along. Near the end of Pleasant Valley Road there is a curve and a hill up. More hill than I realized, until I stopped and looked back. What a view! I could see part of the new US-12 "freeway", over 6 miles away! I stopped for a break, eating a bag of peanuts, and enjoying the breeze from the west.

I continued on at 3:49pm, to Terry Town Road. A nice downhill was ahead at a curve. Almost too nice. I coasted past 40 mph, which I'm sure is my record! Not that I want to push it any higher. 

Flat riding, with little ups and downs, was next, and I enjoy that the best. 2.5 miles from Reedsburg I received a text from Kris with motel information. Decided I'd check out the cheaper Motel Reedsburg. 

I was at the east-west highway into town (WI-23/WI-33) at 4:59pm. A busy road, but with a bike lane (initially). I saw a True Value hardware store sign, which reminded me I need some new tubes. I stopped there and bought two bags of peanuts also.

At 5:28pm I was at the motel office. The clerk was telling about different prices for different bed sizes, but what I wanted to know, and eventually thought to ask, was which room had space for my bike.

After getting settled in room 140 (king size bed), I figured out where I wanted to eat. The word "buffet" was in the name of one restaurant, so I started off walking to there at 6:20pm. Received a phone call from my wife as I walked, and that was fun. At 6:30pm I was at the Golden Buffet, which is a Chinese Buffet. That works, and I was full after three plates full (one was dessert) and two root beers.

I was back at the motel at 7:45pm for a shower and picture selection. It'd been a good day, and I was rolling better now, due to last night's tire switch. At least, that's what I'm thinking.

In bed at 11:00pm, with alarm set for 5:00am. I could get use to this motel touring.

Jeff

Spent: $12.96 (tubes, peanuts) + $52.39 plus $5 (motel) + $12.23 plus $2 (supper) = $84.58.

Day 9 - Sauk City, WI to Reedsburg, WI
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ first break of the day - next to Sauk Prairie Cemetery +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ along Hatchery Road - Sauk County, WI +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 31 miles (50 km)
Total: 281 miles (452 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0