Day 8 - Ending at Sauk City, WI - Wisconsin on the Kick-back - CycleBlaze

August 12, 2018

Day 8 - Ending at Sauk City, WI

Rode on Madison Bikeway System, US Highway 12 Path

The alarm woke me up at 3:00am for report-writing, which was done at 7:40am. Packed up and headed out at 9:15am, after using the camp's water jug filler. My final destination today is Green Valley Campground south of Baraboo. But first, Madison.

I rode some this morning on the unpaved base of the Capital City State Trail, and some on parallel roads. Being Sunday morning, lots of joggers, walkers, and bicyclists were out enjoying their day off. At one nature preserve area, folks were setting up big cameras on tripods.

At 9:36am, I started on the Madison Bikeway System. This took me through a busy hotel area and to a park-like area where Wingra Creek is. I followed my routing along the southwest corner of Lake Monona, and had my first [long-range] view of downtown Madison. This path I was on was crowded with all sorts of people - including fishermen. 

After taking a picture of my bike by the lake, I went northeast far enough to approach the capital building from the east. I walked the bike on the sidewalk to arrive at the Wisconsin State Capital building at 10:32am. Lots of people here also, being downtown with coffee shops and the like.

I continued walking the bike west to my at-home-researched place to eat breakfast: Short Stack Eatery. It's a small interesting place and I was planning to order "The Blind" - a meal that's $7 if you don't ask what's in it, and $11 if you do. There must have been more people outside waiting to get in than the place can hold! Eating here this morning wasn't going to work for me.

Moving on, I followed my waypoints on west, using bike lanes and paths, which took me past the University of Wisconsin - Madison, and through Middleton. I passed and stopped at the Shorewoods Hills Pick n Save for lunch items, later eating them in the shade of a tree next to an empty parking lot (at 12:12pm). Noon mileage report (at noon): 10.0 miles. Talked to my wife on the phone at 1:10pm, hearing all the week's home news.

Another bike path through a Middleton park brought me to the US Highway 12 path at 1:48pm. I felt clear of the city at this point, ready to head north. This path parallels busy US-12. With no tree cover and being hot, I was moving slow. One cyclist who passed me slowed down to my speed to talk. He's preparing for a touring ride of some Wisconsin trails next month. He knows this area well, and we discussed my current thought of ending my day short in Sauk City. He said the motels shouldn't be full on a Sunday night. He also provided options for getting to Reedsburg, where the "400" State Trail begins. I thanked him and let him get back up to speed. We spoke a little more later when he met me on his way back to Madison.

At 2:55pm, I took a break, sitting on a bench in a cemetery along the path. Back riding at 3:08pm, and finally at the end of this section of the path at 3:43pm. The last part had been uphill, and that continued as I made my way on the highway's wide shoulder. I came to the bridge that's been built for a future section of the US-12 path. Just beyond, I was finally at the top of the hill. I didn't know it at the time, but it's all downhill from here to Sauk City!

At 4:41pm, I crossed the highway to get to the small section of the rest of the US-12 path. Then back across to get to Ganser's Motel. I wasn't able to make contact with anyone there, so continued on into Sauk City. Found the Cedarberry Motel, and was checked into room #117 at 5:30pm. 

Next it should have been: get a shower, eat supper, and write the report. Instead, I replaced my tires with the ones I was carrying along. I can't be sure, but I think the wider tires are slowing me down. I'll give them credit for doing well on gravel, anyway. I worked on this project from 6:00pm to 8:10pm, popping a tube (due to a rim pinch, I believe) in the process. 

At 8:15pm, I left on the bike for supper at Culver's - the original first Culver's! I ordered what I had for lunch last Sunday back home. Back at the motel room at 9:05pm, and the shower was next. At 10:00pm, it was report picture-selection until 11:25pm - bedtime.

I'm a little behind schedule now, but I did make it through the big city.

Jeff

Spent: $6.97 (Pick 'n Save lunch) + $93.66 plus $5 (motel) + $9.75 (supper) + $2 (beer) = $117.38.

Day 8 - Madison, WI to Sauk City, WI
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Capital Springs State Recreation Area next to Nine Springs Creek - Madison, WI +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ condominiums with a view of Lake Monona - Madison, WI +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ US Bank Plaza across the street from the Wisconsin State Capitol - Madison, WI +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ a place for a break and a phone call - Middleton, WI +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Pheasant Branch Creek Corridor Trail - Middleton, WI +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Pheasant Branch Creek - Middleton, WI +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
+ stopping for another break - Kohlmann Cemetery +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 32 miles (51 km)
Total: 250 miles (402 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0