Day 24 - Still near Loves Park, IL - Wisconsin on the Kick-back - CycleBlaze

August 28, 2018

Day 24 - Still near Loves Park, IL

My no-alarm wake-up this morning was thanks to thunder at 5:35am. It was just sprinkles. Still warm and muggy. The first thing on my mind was to get the bike wheel fixed. As soon as I had the bike turned over (at 6:10am) it started to rain, but only lasted for eight minutes.

Back on the job, I checked tire pressure first: front = 48.0psi, back = 47.5psi. I'm very happy about that. I took the wheel off the bike, removed tire and tube, and rim tape. Then I went looking for my bag of spare nipples. I checked three times, and finally concluded they're in my Trek Belleville spare parts box back home. Oh well. I removed a spoke opposite the three broken ones, and used its nipple to put one of the three missing ones back in place. Then, of course, I spent a lot of time aligning the rim. It's pretty good now, and I'm not going to worry about it anymore.

The reason the bike repair had first priority this morning was I wanted to use it to go for breakfast at the concession stand here at the park, and it's on the other side of the lake. At 8:20am, I was on my way. There's a shortcut road to there that's gated closed, but bicycles and walkers can get through. Still, my GPS receivers logged my journey at 1.6 miles, one way. 

It was nice and cool inside the cafe, and the pancakes were reasonably sized. After I was done eating, I was allowed to stay and work on report-writing (there'd been no other customers). When I started falling asleep, I decided it was time to leave (at 10:03am). Climbing the hill from the lake woke me up, so I stopped at West Lake Picnic Area to write some more. By 10:41am, I was drifting away again. What I need is a nap!

Back at my campsite, I grabbed my pillow, then headed south a short ways to picnic tables near a closed camp store (which, by the way, will be open this weekend). This spot was good for two reasons. It was in the shade from the hazy sun, and it is on top of a rise, receiving the south breeze. Now, back to writing, and when I start falling asleep, I'm all set for a nap. Naptime arrived at 11:55am. My smartphone's "noon mileage alarm" went off five minutes later. Trying again, I slept well to 12:47am. I bought a Gatorade from one of the machines next to the camp store, and continued report-writing until 2:40pm, when the phone said it needed charging. Back to the tent for recharge and more writing. It rained from 3:50pm to 5:05pm, but wasn't the storm front moving through. The bad weather is supposed to be here tonight. 

With the rain intermission, I rode back to the Lone Rock Cafe for supper - Johnsonville Ultimate Brat, BBQ chips, and carrot cake milk shake (a shake made with carrot cake ice cream). All very good. As I left, I checked out the bait and tackle shop next door, and bought two PayDays for on-the-road snacking.

I was back at my campsite at 6:43pm. The weather radar showed the big rain to the west that is to get here this evening. It arrived at 8:20pm with heavy rain, and awesome lightning and thunder. And it just keeps coming, though the lightning/thunder has lessened. So far, no wind. I had prepared for the worst by leaving my boots on and setting out my raincoat. The tent was weathering the storm well, so I rolled over and took a nap. Awake later for more report-writing (today's report). About done now (at 11:55pm), just as the lightning/thunder is starting back up. Good sleeping weather. 

Jeff

Spent: $25 (campsite) + $9.18 plus $2 (breakfast) + $1.50 (Gatorade) + $9.56 plus $2 (supper) + $2.58 (PayDays) = $51.82.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
a friend of mine who kayaks says pictured here is Marcia Jones Smoke, a 1964 Olympics bronze medal winner
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0