Day 23 - Ending near Loves Park, IL - Wisconsin on the Kick-back - CycleBlaze

August 27, 2018

Day 23 - Ending near Loves Park, IL

Rode on Glacial River Trail, Ice Age Trail

I had set the alarm last night to get up at 5:20am this morning, which I did, since I had a report to write. I started writing, then started thinking about the miles I had planned for today (54 miles) to get to Rock Cut State Park near Loves Park, Illinois. I really needed to get going, but also wanted to have yesterday's report done first. Back and forth - report or ride? The weather forecast was something to consider also. It is supposed to rain today, and again tomorrow. 

I went to the gas station next to Burger King for coffee. Drink coffee; eat apple. That bought me a little more thinking time. 

Finally, I just decided to pack and go. If I make it to Rock Cut State Park, I could take Tuesday off (rain day) and catch up. 

I talked some more with Keith this morning, just before I left at 8:32am. He wished me a safe trip. 8:32am is not really an early start, considering it was from a motel room. None-the-less, I wanted breakfast, and had located a place using Google Maps. At 8:45am, I arrived at Eat-Mor. I sat at the counter, since that's all they have here. I ordered eggs with bacon and toast, and added a small pancake (sm, med, and lg were the choices). After seeing the pancake on the griddle, I said, "That's a small pancake?" The cook answered, "Yes". I didn't inquire further on the diameter of their large pancakes, I just started thinking finishing this pancake, rather than bicycling, might be my challenge for today. If it hadn't have been so good, I wouldn't have made it. But I did eat everything, and was surprisingly just comfortably full.

At 9:54am, I was back on the Glacial River Trail. At a trailhead at 10:00am, I stopped to put on sunscreen, and fill my gallon water jug. I'd received ice from the cook at Eat-Mor, so I was all set now to cover the miles.

This trail is paved even in the country, and it was good riding. I had my rubber boots on, and rain gear at hand, but there was no more than sprinkles. At 11:39am, I crossed into Rock County. Noon came along when I'd just made it to a high spot on the trail. There's a bench here, so I sat down for a break.

Noon report: 12.4 miles.

At 12:31pm, I took off my rubber boots, since the chance for rain had diminished, according to what I was seeing on the radar. 

At 1:25pm, I was where I had marked on my GPS the end of the Glacial River Trail, and the start of the Ice Age Trail. But I'm not sure. Signage didn't seem to agree. At 1:52pm, at least I saw a sign stating "Ice Age Trail". I was in Janesville now, following my waypoints along, apparently, several trails.

I passed by and stopped at a Janesville Area Convention & Visitors Bureau center at 2:35pm, where I met worker Chuck. He was very helpful, providing me with a Rock County Bicycling Map, a brochure on the Ice Age Trail, and a 2018 Illinois Highway Map (to replace the 2014 one I have with me). After best wishes, I was moving again.

At 2:55pm I was at Monterey Park, and, apparently, the Rock Trail Bikeway. Then, the Peace Trail at 3:34pm. Road riding on CR-D at 3:57pm, when the last trail ended.

Nice bike lane on CR-D, and I crossed into Beloit at 4:45pm. Made my way through town, partly on a trail that went along the median of a street. At 5:15pm I'd reached the Beloit bus station, located just north of the state line. I took a break near here at a mini-park area, and checked how far Google Maps said I still had to go: 10 miles. I may make it before dark!

At 5:25pm, I rolled into my home state. Ten minutes later I stopped at M&M Dari Ripple for a root beer float. 

At 5:43pm, I finally got back to serious riding. Streets and paths south brought me to Hononegah Recreation Path at 6:15pm. That kept me off some busy roads. Later I passed through Roscoe, and was on less busy roads. 

At 7:20pm I was pedaling up Mitchell Road when I felt/heard something bad happening to the front wheel. That brought me to a stop. Apparently something had wedged itself in the wheel and sheared three spoke nipples. The tire hadn't lost any air, and everything else looked OK. I taped the loose spokes to others. Two miles to go, according to Google Maps. I started walking, then decided to try riding. Riding worked, but I avoided bumps. 

Still, it was nearly dark when I arrived at the campground registration building at 8:00pm, thankful to be here. I'm staying two nights for sure, now. I was assigned site #308 in Staghorn Campground, and it took me twelve minutes to get here.

Shortly after I arrived at the site, two women showed up with a lantern, asking if I needed help. They are the Camp Hostess (Pam) and her daughter-in-law (Angie). Pam helped me figure out where to locate the tent. She knew which areas of campsite #308 flood in really heavy rains. Then we talked some about my trip and my job, before I had them convinced that everything was OK, and I'd eventually get my tent set up, after sending out an "I've arrived" email. 

I was camping by 9:45pm, and sleeping at 10:40pm (with no alarm set).

Jeff

Spent: $0.53 (coffee) + $9.10 plus $2 (breakfast) + $3.53 (root beer float) + $25 (campsite) = $40.16.

Day 23 - Fort Atkinson, WI to Loves Park, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
+ the Rock River under WI-26 near Fort Atkinson - Glacial River Trail +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 1
Steve H71I know all about that evil stuff. Still have scars from it.
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ looping down to East High Street in Milton - Glacial River Trail +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Jackson Street Bridge over Rock River viewed from the Ice Age Trail - Janesville, WI +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ south end of the Peace Trail north of Afton +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ crossing Rock River on the trail bridge - Beloit, WI +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 55 miles (89 km)
Total: 869 miles (1,399 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0