Back on the Kick-back - Wisconsin on the Kick-back - CycleBlaze

Back on the Kick-back

On the last page of a previous journal I wrote:

It would be prudent to retire this bike from touring.
But, if I had a spare high-speed sprocket on hand . . .

Well, I now have a spare high-speed sprocket on hand - actually a whole spare kick-back hub I acquired last February. So, I'm giving my Schwinn kick-back another chance. Last time it worked for 2158 touring-miles before breaking, and this trip is only 1021 planned-miles. I won't carry this spare hub with me (it's 3.8 pounds), but I'll use parts from it, if necessary, when I get back.

Another reason for going with this bike is its wider tires should work better on trails. Though, I'm not sure how well I'll get along with the new tires I installed on July 14. They're CST 26 x 2 x 1-3/4 (54-571). Riding around town I've noticed they tend to pick up and hold gravel. The almost new tires I took off are my favorites - Kenda with the same specs, but a much different tread. I'll carry them along as spares.

Kenda tire on left, CST tire on bike
Heart 0 Comment 0

The initial packing before a touring trip is the part I enjoy the least, but that'll all be over by Sunday afternoon, when I head off north. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0