Day 1 - Ending near Alta, IL - Wisconsin on the Kick-back - CycleBlaze

August 5, 2018

Day 1 - Ending near Alta, IL

Rode on Morton Community Bikeway, River Trail of Illinois, Rock Island Greenway, Rock Island State Trail (Illinois)

Just after midnight - which was technically early Sunday morning - I was done packing, except for loading the bike. Out of bed at 5:20am for my usual Sunday morning: breakfast at The Downtown Diner, church service, and the Culver's carryout lunch my wife picks up.

Packing the bike after lunch went well. The whole planning/packing routine this year seemed like an exercise in how efficient I could do what I've done before. It wasn't until I sensed the faint smell of the sunscreen I used last year that I really felt I was going on another trip!

As always, I have encouragement and support of family, friends, and co-workers. Many good wishes! My wife is even going help me with report-posting this year! Hopefully, she won't edit too much. Friend Kris is standing by to give navigational assistance when things don't go as planned, and my father-in-law is waiting to deliver my Trek Belleville to me if the kick-back breaks down beyond repair.

After a picture, I took off at 2:28pm into the hot, sunny afternoon. Bike trails was the routing to get me out of town and through Peoria. Just last week I learned that the first two miles of the River Trail of Illinois in Morton is actually called the Morton Community Bikeway, and that the trail through Peoria is the Rock Island Greenway. The Rock Island State Trail (of Illinois) doesn't start until past Allen Road north of Peoria. Making it to Kickapoo Creek Recreation Area next to the Rock Island State Trail is today's goal.

At 2:41pm I was on the Morton trail, and a little later, the River Trail of Illinois. A few trail detours due to late spring washouts, but they weren't a problem. Over the Bob Michel Bridge and I was in Peoria, and at the south end of the Rock Island Greenway at 4:26pm. I haven't been on this trail before, but it looks like a good way through the "big city".

I passed underneath the Murray-Baker Bridge - which I cross over on my way to work - and proceeded toward Springdale Cemetery. Their cemetery sign map was a help, and brought me to the first short hill I had to walk up (at 5:46pm). I took a break at the top. I'm moving slower than I expected, and taking breaks isn't helping.

Shortly after I got moving again, I rode under War Memorial Drive and reconnected with paved trail. At 6:43pm, I was at the trail bridge over Knoxville Avenue. Some kids on their bikes were going over, then turning around to go over again. Once was enough for me.

I crossed Pioneer Parkway at 7:07pm, and made it to the tunnel under Route 6 at 7:25pm. At 7:40pm, I was at the start of the Rock Island State Trail. It was getting dark along the tree-lined path, but was much brighter when I got into the open - when I turned west onto Fox Road at 7:53pm. The pay station for camping is along this road.

There was only one registration slip left in the box, and I had that filled in with my $6 fee at 8:05pm. From there I followed the park road north to the camping area. The campsites here are nice, but I was looking for the picnic shelter, since there was a chance for rain overnight. Had to use the satellite view on this smartphone to find it. There at 8:30pm. Set up the tent, then heard/saw a train at 9:07pm. It was close and loud. Hopefully, that'll be the last one until morning.

For supper in the dark I had two applesauce cups and a few ginger snaps. There's a light glow in the southern sky - not the moon - Peoria lights, bright enough to see to get toothpaste on my toothbrush in the "dark".

Worked on picture selection in the tent, getting that done, and was in bed at 11:26pm. Rather, I was on top of the sleeping bag. It hadn't really cooled off any.

Only 24 miles, but I'm on my way.

Jeff

Spent: $6 (campsite) = $6.

Day 1 - Morton, IL to Alta, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ crossing Farm Creek on River Trail of Illinois - East Peoria, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ mile marker 5 on Rock Island Greenway - Peoria, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 2
Mike AylingDid you?

Mike
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Jeff TeelTo Mike AylingMike,
Yes, I walked. The clearance on the curved ceiling was such that I'd have hit my head if I strayed from the center, even walking.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 24 miles (39 km)
Total: 24 miles (39 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Kathleen JonesAnd you're off! Have a good trip. Happy to be following along again.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
Thanks for the good wishes! Glad to have a fellow slow-tourer along.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
5 years ago