Many Glacier Campground to Waterton Townsite campground - Glacier and other delights - CycleBlaze

August 8, 2017

Many Glacier Campground to Waterton Townsite campground

Water, water everywhere

Now that we have the hiking part out of the way, it's time to start racking up some miles! The highlight of the day was leapfrogging with a group of cyclists who were doing a SAG-wagon supported ride with a touring company. They were all smiles. Contrast that with "grumpy girl", the lone unsupported tourist who wouldn't even acknowledge me when I said hello on the road. When I met Sunyoung again, she said she had the same experience.

Entrance to Waterton Park was free, as a result of Canada celebrating its sesquicentennial. When we arrived at the campground, we encountered grumpy girl. I said "Hey, we saw you earlier today!", to which she replied "Yeah". End of conversation.

Someone had set their tent up in our spot. I rode back to the campground entrance to sort it out. The employee, who appeared to be a teenager, told us to take the spot next to it. Later on, we met the German couple who took our spot, and they were not happy that we were camped next to them. The husband and I had an uncomfortable discussion that lasted far too long for my tastes. He was convinced that they were in the right spot and us in the wrong spot. My opinion was everything was fine just the way it was, and that furthermore I had performed my due diligence by seeking and following the campground staff's advice. Meanwhile, the two wives had struck up a conversation, and somehow the end result was that we all shared photos and stories under the picnic shelter together. They were still in their tent when we broke camp and left the next morning. I hope they enjoyed the rest of their trip.

At the peak of a fairly tough climb
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bike for the border!
Heart 0 Comment 0
They let us through... can you believe it?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Look at me, I'm a car!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Look at me, I'm a bike!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Smoky but beautiful
Heart 0 Comment 0
Peeking my head out after the downpour
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 54 miles (87 km)
Total: 162 miles (261 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0