You Can Check Out But You Can Never Leave - While I Am Waiting - CycleBlaze

You Can Check Out But You Can Never Leave

CWCT Day 5: Dunedoo to Mendooran

We checked out of the Dunedoo Caravan Park bright and early and I headed out on Digilah Rd while Roger drove north to stash the car and ride back toward Dunedoo.

Last view of the Dunedoo silos.
Heart 3 Comment 0
OK, truly the last view of the Dunedoo silos.
Heart 2 Comment 0

The riding was pleasant, but uphill. Just a little bit uphill at first, and then a lot more uphill. I took the opportunity to do some cross-training aka walking. Purely by choice, of course.

I love these trees.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looking back.
Heart 2 Comment 0


The bitumen finished and the ride got more interesting, with little water crossings and shady trees and not a lot of pedaling due to the tailwind and a false flat in my favour.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0


The road zigged and zagged through a farmer's yard, dodging around machinery sheds and trundling right past the front gate where orphan sheep slept amongst the rose bushes.  Out on the flat floor of the valley I spied an oncoming cyclist.  He wasn't enjoying the wind as much as me (I don't know why, he kept grizzling about head winds but I hadn't experienced any).

Fancy meeting you here!
Heart 2 Comment 0

We swapped tales of the road ahead/behind, and off I went to find a picnic spot beside the creek for lunch.

Heart 1 Comment 0
The road was rough, rocky, and very dusty. It was nice to relax beside the creek to eat my vegemite sandwiches.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
No rest for the weary. Jump in the car and go pick up Himself.
Heart 0 Comment 0


I heard the trucks on the highway long before I saw them.  The car was as Roger had left it, tucked in undisturbed behind the railway line.

We had considered Mendooran as a camp for the night but (we're getting soft) snubbed it on account of having no showers and rumours of puncture-inducing prickles.  Instead we went back to Dunedoo and thus it was that although we had checked out of the Hotel California we didn't leave at all, merely moving from the grandeur of the cabin on the hill down to the slums of caravan corner where we had to share the camp kitchen with the Flannel Fellas and swapped the rumble of trucks for the rumble of trains on the line behind our tent.

Goodnight.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 35 km (22 miles)
Total: 136 km (84 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0