Prodigal Dairy Products - While I Am Waiting - CycleBlaze

Prodigal Dairy Products

CWCT Day 7

Roger and I do some things very well. One of the things we do well is driving off from Caravan Parks (in this case Wellington 10 days ago) and leaving our cold goods in the refrigerator in the camp kitchen. This usually results in much gnashing of teeth, lamenting our lost butter and cheese, and developing strategies to prevent further losses (the effectiveness of which is debatable given we keep doing it). 

We will return to this topic at the end of the day.  As it was the day started early, drinking hot tea while the sun dried out the tent and over the road, the Hair Of The Dog proprietor set out tables in the parking lot in preparation for a big charity event that evening.  We were the only ones up and about after an evening lulled to sleep by Cher (jukebox) and chatter (annoying campers in the van over there).

Heart 0 Comment 0




Once on my bicycle I departed from the official CWCT route, blazing my own trail beside the railway to Dubbo rather than gallivanting over hill and dale as per the CWCT's search of gravel adventure. Roger left to seek a new phone in Dubbo, and the railway and I were left to travel together in peace.

Just a pleasant morning ride,
Heart 0 Comment 0
with some fun parts.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Eventually the road took a sharp curve away from the railway, but a small gravel track beckoned me on. Why not? I thought, and congratulated myself on my cunning good sense as I pedaled happily down a quiet track, trucks and cars heard but not seen on the other side of the railway tracks.  A large railway bridge loomed into view, the lack of all-weather pedaling options being why the official CWCT trail had taken to the hills. Thankfully for me it hadn't rained for a week or two, and me and my bicycle were able to navigate through the maze of (generally dried) mud that had already been thoroughly enjoyed by people on 4WDs and dirt bikes.

That would have been fun in the wet.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Scene of Barbie's last stand.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Before I could say boo I was back on the bitumen for the long downhill into Dubbo, where I had to wave goodbye to my friend the railway and strike out alone into the suburban wilderness.

The road to civilisation.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dubbo drivers need extra instruction on roundabouts. This did not give me confidence. I took to the footpath.
Heart 1 Comment 0

In the centre of Dubbo clusters of people wandered the streets, some of them in fancy dress and all of them earnestly consulting their phones. "It's an Alice in Wonderland Quest!" They enlightened me.  A small boy stood pressed up against a building, waving a phone. "I'm hot! Really hot! It must be inside! Can we break in?" His mother rolled her eyes. "Try going around the corner, kiddo."

I bring you faceless zombies in Alice in Wonderland costumes.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I stopped to listen to a ukelele trio, out having a good time entertaining the citizens on Saturday morning. "We do this for fun," they said.  "People ask us to play at events all the time but if we do that we get too stressed.  So we just busk instead and if we make money we give it to charity."
Good on them, I say.

Roger and I met in Victoria Park, where he was getting acquainted with his new phone and grieving again the loss of his old one.

The grand boulevard in Victoria Park, Dubbo.
Heart 1 Comment 0

With Roger's navigation secured (sort of), I took him back to Wongarbon and waved him off before following the highway to Geurie and waiting for him there.  Here's a hot tip: if you have to wait an hour for someone, try not to do it in Geurie.

Cycling finished for the day, we went back to Wellington to camp for the night and that was when we discovered, to our joy and advantage, that the Wellington Caravan Park did not clean out their fridges as regularly as they should and the denizens of the park were honest with regard to unclaimed dairy products.  There's nothing quite like the thrill of being reunited with the cheese and butter that you thought was gone forever.

We had toasted cheese sandwiches to celebrate and rejoiced long into the night (or at least until 9pm) before retiring to gather our energy for the final leg of the CWCT tomorrow.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 23 km (14 miles)
Total: 195 km (121 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0