I Need A Fly Net - While I Am Waiting - CycleBlaze

I Need A Fly Net

The Old Powder Magazine

The wind blew from the south.  I decided to ride south past the old powder magazine, so that when I got tired and turned around the wind could push me back home.

On the southern edge of Wallaroo I met a dilemma: the road left the sea and went inland, burdened with grain trucks going to the bulk storage pads. Alternatively, a track along the beach bypassed private land, but this veered firmly into push-your-bike territory.

Thinking...
Heart 0 Comment 0
Gonna push my bike. It's not far.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The pushing didn't last long. In no time at all I was back up onto firm ground and the little track along the top of the escarpment led me to the Wallaroo Powder Magazine which was a fine spot to stop and have a snack.

All the explosives for the copper mines came by boat to Wallaroo, and were originally stored in town, between a residential house and the blacksmith's shop before being transported to the mine. Some members of the public were a little leery about the proximity of explosives and blacksmiths furnaces, so lobbied for safer storage. In 1867 a magazine, the foundations of which are still visible, was built on this site deemed a safe distance from town. The building was upgraded but ultimately left to deteriorate once the mines closed and the need for explosives diminished.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Original foundations on view.
Heart 0 Comment 0

A sweet little track that meandered south of the old Magazine, sometimes with a view of the sea, sometimes down amongst the dunes.

Most of the time it was pleasantly ride-able,
Heart 2 Comment 0
as long as I was careful with the sand...
Heart 0 Comment 0
Whoops!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sometimes I walked.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Mike AylingGood choice
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

Eventually I reached a left-hand bend where the wind ceased being a battering ram and became instead a friendly hand at my back.  I positively zoomed along, dodging corrugations and potholes with barely the need to pedal.  The only drawback was all the flies that had previously hidden from the wind on my back and now decided to take up residence on my face, in my eyes, up my nose... I weaved all over the road, steering with one hand while furiously waving flies away with the other.

Tail wind territory. Shame about the flies.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Coming back into Wallaroo I stumbled across the brand new rail trail which went all the way to Moonta and was on my must-ride-while-in-Wallaroo list.  When the wind was blowing the right way, of course.  And when I'd found my fly net.

New bicycle infrastructure and improvised fly protection. I tried putting it over my eyes as well but that didn't work too well.
Heart 4 Comment 0

The wind blew me all the way through Wallaroo and back around the Marina, past the Kitchen, etc, etc back to my front door. And all before midday too, which was a good thing because I really needed to do some laundry while the sun was shining.

I went to bed happy.  My new bike had performed admirably.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 24 km (15 miles)
Total: 807 km (501 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Mike AylingWhy have you changed your name to Penguin?
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Titanium PenguinIn a nutshell, working on minimising my recognisable digital footprint.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago