All The Riding I Didn't Do - While I Am Waiting - CycleBlaze

All The Riding I Didn't Do

Dhilba Guuranga -Ellis National Park


Point Turton said goodbye to us with a fabulous sunrise.

Heart 3 Comment 0


We headed off back across the peninsula towards Marion Bay  where I quite optimistically planned to follow the WTY through the Dhilba Guuranga-Ellis National Park.

Aaand... no cycling for me today. Despite the relatively benign weather at the bottom of the Yorke, it was subject to the same catastrophic fire danger rating as the rest of the peninsula, therefore the Dhilba Guuranga-Ellis NP was closed.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I didn't ride the following day either.  The weather flipped to raging wind and freezing rain.  I looked at ship wrecks instead.

The remnants of the Ethel, wrecked at the very bottom of the Yorke Peninsula in 1904. A single cabin boy perished, having been put overboard in the raging surf to swim a line to shore. By morning the sea had settled and the remaining crew and passengers paddled safely to the beach.
Heart 1 Comment 0

And just like that we were finished with the Yorke Peninsula, but not quite finished cycling.  Not just yet.

My buddy in Marion Bay.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0