Day 6: To Port McNeill - Western Canada 2007 - CycleBlaze

July 5, 2007

Day 6: To Port McNeill

I got on the road at 9:45 after a long conversation with the other touring cyclists. On the road I saw two female touring cyclists heading south. I'm going north/west and inland starting with a 280 meter climb. The road climbs up to 435m later in the day.

The road gets increasingly mountainous north of Campbell River.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The road had no shoulder at first but it did have a shoulder for most of the day. There were no towns and no services until Woss.

Nice road: Low traffic, good pavement, well-placed rumble strip.
Heart 0 Comment 0

No ocean views today but I had views of nearby mountains on Vancouver Island.

Telephoto view.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Wide view from the same location.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The road passes very close to Nimpkish lake but I could hardly see it through the trees.

After passing the village of Woss I started looking for roadside campsites. I found one that had a stream nearby, but kept going because I wanted to get at least 20km past Woss. I didn't find any other suitable campsites after that.

Lupine.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Another mountain ahead.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I continued all the way to Port McNeill, arriving at 10:15PM. It was well past sunset but I could still see outside. Port McNeill has no campground and two expensive-looking motels. I got a room at the Haida Way Inn. My $100 room had concrete block walls. Hardly what I would call a good value.

Today's route was mostly going west but I had very little headwind. The headwind was only noticeable near the top of the bigger hills. The area is very sparsely populated so I wasn't surprised to find very little traffic on the road. The scenery is pleasant and unspoiled but not really inspiring. Much of the time I was merely riding through a corridor of trees. The weather was sunny with a high temperature of 22C (72F). The temperature dropped significantly near sunset so I wore a jacket and gloves for the last hour or so.

Today was a hard day with long distance and significant climbing. Ten hours actual riding time! I'm very tired but tomorrow will be an easy day to Port Hardy.

Distance: 136 km / 85 mi

Climbing: 1141 m / 3770 ft

Average speed: 13.6 km/h / 8.5 mph

Maximum speed: 55 km/h / 34.4 mph

Today's ride: 137 km (85 miles)
Total: 520 km (323 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0