Day 7: To Port Hardy - Western Canada 2007 - CycleBlaze

July 6, 2007

Day 7: To Port Hardy

After such an exhausting day yesterday I slept until 8:30AM. I took a shower and ate the hot breakfast buffet ("free" with my $100 room). Then I spent an hour doing chores like laundry, shaving, and journal writing. Finally on the road at 11AM after retrieving the bike from the locked store room. They must be afraid that my bike will ruin their painted concrete block walls.

On the road I had to backtrack to the highway, a 90m climb. Then it was an easy short ride to Port Hardy with no big climbs and only a slight headwind as I biked mostly west. The road stays inland in dense forest until I was almost in Port Hardy.

I wasn't planning to feed any bears.
Heart 1 Comment 0
BIG and TALL log truck.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Charmaine RuppoltWow, that's a huge and tall load that log truck has. Bigger than what I've seen on the OR/CA coast. I'm amazed they let the drivers carry such a load like that. I've seen trees that fell off of log truck into a ravine when they turned a corner. Ack.
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Wayne EstesI assume this truck wasn't driving terribly far. Definitely not near freeway overpasses.
Reply to this comment
1 week ago

I arrived at Port Hardy at 3PM and spent a long time relaxing at the city's waterfront park. The weather was partly cloudy but the temperature was only about 21C (70F).

Port Hardy pedestrian promenade.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Port Hardy.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Port Hardy.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Eventually I left town and rode a few km to the commercial campground on the spur road to the B.C. ferry. Arriving at 5:30PM I had more daylight than usual at the campsite. The site cost $10 and has a partial ocean view. The persistent wind seemed to keep the mosquitoes at bay.

I tried to get organized and pre-packed for an early departure in the morning. I'm told I need to be at the ferry before 7AM. Fortunately it's only 2 km away. I need to get going in the morning 3 hours earlier than usual.

Today was an easy, lazy day. Just what I needed after yesterday. And tomorrow will be a rest day on the ferry to Prince Rupert. The weather was partly sunny, windy, with a high of only 21C (70F). I'm not accustomed to such cool weather in July. In the final minutes of sunlight I stood in the sun and luxuriated in the warm rays.

Distance: 58.9 km / 36.8 mi

Climbing: 377 m / 1245 ft

Average speed: 13.6 km/h / 8.5 mph

Maximum speed: 47.9 km / 30 mph

Today's ride: 59 km (37 miles)
Total: 579 km (360 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0