Day 5: To Sayward Junction - Western Canada 2007 - CycleBlaze

July 4, 2007

Day 5: To Sayward Junction

I got up at 8 and walked to the beach to take a few pictures. Visibility was good.

Miracle Beach Provincial Park.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Miracle Beach Provincial Park has a panoramic view of the mountains on the mainland.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Miracle Beach Provincial Park.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I got on the road at 10:15 and was pleased to see that the road stays close to the coast for a while. Riding was easy and scenic to Campbell River where I ate lunch, bought groceries, and got cash. I'm spending cash at a MUCH faster rate than I do on most tours. Canada is expensive for Americans.

Near Sayward.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Campbell River is a large sprawling and prosperous town. There is a bike path in some sections.

Woodcarving competition at Campbell River.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bike path at Campbell River.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Creative use of an old satellite dish.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I frequently saw the Coast Range mountains across the water on the mainland. The spine of Vancouver island is also tall mountains but I almost never saw them. My only view of Vancouver Island mountains was at this one spot in Campbell River. Nearby tall trees and hills obstructed the view everywhere else.

A rare glimpse of the mountains on Vancouver Island.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Industrial zone north of Campbell River.
Heart 0 Comment 0

There are many wood products industries north of Campbell River. An hour's ride north of Campbell River I was past the factories and in a very sparsely populated area. The road turns inland into mountainous terrain. The highest hill topped out at 310 m above sea level. The paved shoulder ends after the little town of Roberts Lake. That's not much of a problem because there is very little traffic. Towns are few and far between now.

Inlet north of Campbell River.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I camped at a commercial campground at Sayward Junction, arriving at 8:45 PM. The campground had many mosquitoes and I used my headnet for the first time on this trip. It was dark (10:30) by the time I finished eating dinner. I spoke briefly with two other solo bike tourists in the campground. One from the Netherlands and one (60+ year old man) from Victoria.

Today was sunny all day with a high of about 25C (77F). Warmest day of the trip so far...

Distance: 99.5 km / 62.2mi

Climbing: 614 m / 2030ft

Average speed: 14.3 km/h / 8.9 mph

Maximum speed: 64.7 km/h / 40.4 mph

Today's ride: 100 km (62 miles)
Total: 383 km (238 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0