Day 1 - Morton to Atlanta - Central Illinois Holiday Weekends - CycleBlaze

May 29, 2021

Day 1 - Morton to Atlanta

Day 1 - Morton to Atlanta
Heart 0 Comment 0

The weather for Memorial Day weekend was forecast to be perfect, so I planned a 3-day/2-night bike trip. I decided to camp at two places I'd been to before: Hickory Lane Campground south of Atlanta and Moraine View State Recreation Area north of LeRoy. I didn't need all the extra clothes I'd normally carry, so that allowed me room for a blanket instead, since the lows at night were predicted to be in the forties.

With packing and breakfast over, I took off at 10:26am with a nice northeast wind pushing me south. Later I would find the "push" from the northeast not so nice when going east.
 

10:22am - ready to go
Heart 2 Comment 0
11:26am - coffee break time along the north end of Schmidgall Road
Heart 0 Comment 0
12:20pm - just making it out of the Mackinaw River valley along Weishaupt Road (CR-2900E)
Heart 0 Comment 0
12:57pm - Little Mackinaw River along Mackinaw Road (CR-3050E)
Heart 0 Comment 0
1:05pm - looking east along Gaines Road (CR-900N). (I took another break at the bend.)
Heart 0 Comment 0

At 1:32pm I was on Route 122 at the northwest side of Minier, looking south at a new park area with a loop path. I left the highway and rode the path into town, after a quick break at the conveniently placed bench.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Into town on Peoria Street and past the still-closed IGA:

Heart 0 Comment 0

Further on I came to St. John's United Church of Christ:

Heart 0 Comment 0

Just after 3:00pm I arrived at Olympia High School, which is out in the country. They have their own water tower, cell tower, and solar panel field. I took my last coffee break for the day southeast of here at 3:12pm:

Heart 0 Comment 0
3:44pm - my artsy picture for today
Heart 1 Comment 0

Curving into the Sugar Creek valley was pleasant. There's a stone monument there telling about Moore's Mill, "Erected in 1842 by John Caton. Purchased in 1843, then improved and operated by the Jacob Moore Family for three generations. Abandoned in 1914." A stone wheel attached to shaft and gear was nearby:

Heart 0 Comment 0

Back out of the valley I stopped to check out an abandoned one-room school house.

4:16pm - rear view of old school building in Mount Hope Township
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was getting low on energy as I approached Atlanta. It was my plan to eat supper in Atlanta, but I hadn't decided on carryout or sit-inside. I really needed a large glass of chocolate milk, and I knew the Country Aire Restaurant would have that, so that's what I decided, and headed that way as I made my way through town.

5:01pm - a high speed train passing through Atlanta
Heart 1 Comment 0
5:05pm - Arch Street
Heart 1 Comment 0
5:08pm - looking through the door at the Palms Grill Cafe
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was at Country Aire at 5:12pm. Indeed, the glass of chocolate milk served to me was large (and $2.99). I ordered another one shortly after I was served my chosen supper: steak and eggs with hash browns and sourdough toast. I'm not posting a picture of the meal since I'm embarrassed that I had to leave half of it uneaten - I was too full.

At 6:26pm I was ready to cover the last four miles to Hickory Lane Campground. I crossed over Old Route 66 on the south side of town, then under I-55 and past Atlanta Cemetery. It was a pleasant ride, except that my legs were cramping a little.

6:54pm - turning south along Logan County CR-1975E
Heart 0 Comment 0
7:15pm - heading toward Hickory Lane Campground office
Heart 0 Comment 0

At 7:16pm, I was checking in at the campground office. Owner Lisa asked for my address as she filled in the registration form. Then she asked if I was the bicyclist from Morton who had stayed here several years ago. I was, and told her how sad it was to read on their campground website that her father Walter had passed away. I'd enjoyed conversations with Walter when I'd been here before.

Lisa suggested several areas I could set up at, so I rode around checking them out. The one I selected at 7:28pm was beneath a large maple tree close to the bathroom. Perfect!

Heart 0 Comment 0

Tent was up and loaded by 8:00pm. 8:18pm was sunset, but the sun was mostly hidden already by trees and hills. My next and last logged time was 9:18pm - bedtime!

43 miles for today. Map attached.
Spent $21.82 plus $6 tip for supper, and $10 for campsite.

Jeff

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 43 miles (69 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0