Day 127: Rest day - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

June 17, 2021

Day 127: Rest day

This is the first time I've seen one of these.
Heart 4 Comment 0

It's a grey-crowned babbler. Wiki gives this link for the species temporalis but this bird is the species rubeculus.

This is the female greater bowerbird. She was moving objects around the nest.
Heart 5 Comment 0
The male greater bowerbird is on the right.
Heart 7 Comment 0

He was bending his head forward to expose the pink feathers on the back of his neck to the female. When he's standing normally the pink feathers aren't visible. 

In the morning I went to the Katherine Hot Springs. They are free.

The temperature was about 27C.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I had a quick dip and then went to the Katherine museum.

This bike path took me alongside the Katherine River.
Heart 1 Comment 0
All of these intricate spearheads are carved from wood.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Amethyst crystal from Camfield.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Headache tablets.
Heart 5 Comment 1
Annie O'SheaI remember my oma having them
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
An International Farmall c1925.
Heart 5 Comment 0
There was no caption on this photo. It has to be the biggest termite mound in the world.
Heart 5 Comment 0
A Dairymaster milk can.
Heart 3 Comment 0
A Furphy tank.
Heart 5 Comment 0

This is where the slang word furphy originates from.

A pretty bike.
Heart 4 Comment 0
I'm not sure what year this is from?
Heart 3 Comment 1
Annie O'SheaNow I feel old, I've bought stamps from those machines oh bugger
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

It now costs $1.10 to post a letter in Oz. $0.60 for pensioners. 

I also bought my new book.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Lunch was sweet potato fritters and green stuff and an iced coffee.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I then went to the pool shop which also repairs phones. As well as the camera not functioning correctly now the moisture indicator has come on again. 

They suggested the charging port to be replaced again and the camera lense to be replaced.

Unfortunately they didn't have the parts in stock and I can't wait for them. They suggested a repair shop in Darwin.

I called them and they should be able to fix the phone when I arrive in Darwin. I hope so. It's kinda frustrating me every time I go to use the camera.

Next I went to the Godinymayin Yijard Rivers Arts & Culture Centre.

The three key Aboriginal groups in close proximity to Katherine are the Dagoman, Jawoyn and Wardoman people.

I met an accomplished artist Kamahi, a Gurindji man. He's new exhibition will open tomorrow night. 

He also has an enormous glass project planned to construct in Canberra in the near future.

Thomas Croft.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Judy Croft. I really liked this one.
Heart 4 Comment 0
This is all of my shopping to get me through to Darwin.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I have tins of salmon, black beans, red kidney beans, chickpeas, fruit and lots of dried fruit. It's probably too much food but I'm a bit bored of roadhouse hamburgers.

Today's ride: 24 km (15 miles)
Total: 6,193 km (3,846 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0