Day 34 - Hoyts Lake - Viking Quest ~ 2023 - CycleBlaze

Day 34 - Hoyts Lake

A perfect day even saw some color change on leafs.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Day 34 - woke up earlier than normal to get a shuttle to Silver Bay, MN.   I didn't feel like riding that section of 61 again so had the  Superior Hiking Association shuttle drag me back.

But first I woke up just in time to see a nature's beautiful sunrise over Grand Marais Bay....

Tempted me to stay another day!
Heart 3 Comment 0

Back to the shuttle - Susan, the driver, was right in time 7:30 a.m.  she came in a van that fit the Long Haul Trucker perfectly.  Off we went for the hour plus ride to my start point intersection of MN 61 and 11.

Real quick, Susan was a hoot; she is 74-years-old and going strong!!!  We talked about everything from the shuttle business to her prior teaching job, to her new trike bike.   She lives in East Duluth and rides all those hills.

Anyway, she was going to pick someone else up after me so I tried not to keep her.  But, interesting person, good luck Susan with the trike repair and happy life!

(We hugs in the parking lot of the inn; she said, "you are what makes this job interesting and fun.". I think the people who meet her are the lucky ones.)

My route took me through the Superior National Forest and the Iron Range.  It was almost car free....very unusual  I've been told.  Next week, or when the leafs change, people say it's is nuts.   I had the whole road to myself today.

The shoulders were clean and wide.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I wore my orange vest today. Susan gave my the lecture about being seen.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Tamora StumSusan probably wants that Orange Helmet on you ..... Glad you enjoyed your day! Love Wifey
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Keith A. SpanglerThank you Tamora
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
I didn't see any wildlife, but I was told they are there
Heart 2 Comment 0
Stopped by this church at mile 30ish to rest. A church goer saw me and turned their car around to ask me if I needed water. Of course I said, he unlocked the water thingy and filled my bottle. Then quickly locked it back up and said, "I have to go going to a football game...."
Heart 3 Comment 0
I honestly was glad to see this sign; I failed to eat this morning and there was NOTHING en route.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I'll let you go....just for the record I did skip my initial destination to ride further so I could eat.  Hoyts Lake also had a county run campground - Fisherman's Point that fit the bill.  Less miles tomorrow and food on route within 4 miles!!!!

Campfire again tonight!

Thank you Note:  Doug, thank you for suggestion this route over Route 1 to Ely....it was beautiful!

Today's ride: 57 miles (92 km)
Total: 864 miles (1,390 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Gregory GarceauGrand Marais is a cool town. In fact, the entire north shore of Lake Superior is a great place to tour on a bike. And once you head inland from the lake, it almost has the aura of riding in Alaska. I'm glad to see you got up there. Finally, I can say from touring experience that Route 1 to Ely is also beautiful. Hilly and remote, but beautiful.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Keith A. SpanglerAnother trip right…..
Reply to this comment
7 months ago