Day 32 - Grand Marais - Viking Quest ~ 2023 - CycleBlaze

Day 32 - Grand Marais

Day 32 - what an evening last night with a cool down and a warm campfire.   I don't know what the temps were overnight, but I know my 850 dry down bag did it's job.   The hardest thing was keeping my beanie on my head.  

I was up and down the hill to the coffee shop by 8 am.   On the way down the descent from my campsite, one of my front panniers flew off.  I heard something hitting my spokes, then the bag came flying off. I maintained control and no damage was done; more surprised than anything.

Today was just getting down the road; not much to say besides Minnesota 61 N was nice to me.  The shoulders were good at times and tight at others; certainly not a road for the inexperienced rider. 

Motorists have been nice to me I admit, even the load of lumber and the house that passed me.  They gave me plenty of notice and space.

There were the trails and side roads that connected a couple times during the day.  I saw a few cyclists - they looked like they were Randonneurs on a long distance ride.

Anyway, I rolled into Grand Marais safe, but the campground was full. So with rain expected overnight, I got the last room at a local hotel.   I'm staying at the campground tomorrow; I'd like to explore this town a little more before heading south.

Here are some pictures....

Heart 2 Comment 0
Saw a few water falls
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
I really think that the flags helped me on the route.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
I got routed to a hard-packed gravel road and saw a few cool things.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Love this saying
Heart 3 Comment 1
Right!
Heart 3 Comment 1
Had my dinner here....yummy
Heart 3 Comment 0
I did talk to some cool people today, this guy didn't say much.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 54 miles (87 km)
Total: 807 miles (1,299 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0