Day 31 - Tettegouche State Park - Viking Quest ~ 2023 - CycleBlaze

Day 31 - Tettegouche State Park

Via Silver Bay

Day 31 - fIrst Coffee at my overnight camp CycleNGear and Cedar Coffee Shops then north along Lake Superior to Silver Bay and  Tettegouche State Park - 43 miles 

GEM En Route:  Split Rock Lighthouse, Southwest of Silver Bay 

Heart 2 Comment 0

Map above shows Temperance River State Park, didn't make it; stopped to much.

Anyway, stopped a lot today to see the beautiful views - that's ok.  

Nite:  The route was pretty simple - go north on 61 and the Gitchi Gami Trail when available.  That trail was hilly and scenic!

Perfect weather to ride ... I can't argue about the not so good days ....after this one!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Sat here for a couple minutes....
Heart 3 Comment 0
Split Rock up close
Heart 3 Comment 0
Sometimes it isn't the main character that deserves attention. On the grounds at Split Rock Lighthouse.
Heart 2 Comment 0
GEM: Split Rock Lighthouse - so cool to see it in person. Spectacular!!!
Heart 4 Comment 1
The one trail today, and it was so nice!!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Amazing Right - it has to make you smile
Heart 2 Comment 0

There was construction on the road coming out of Two Harbors, but the workmen got me around safely.

This one had a bike path around it. The views of the lake were amazing - to bad Mr. Motorist
Heart 3 Comment 0
Second tunnel which I road through. Wide clean shoulder.
Heart 2 Comment 0

The route Included two tunnels; one with a bike path around it, the other one I road through.  It was easy, big shoulder.   The shoulder on Highway 61 varies a lot from wide to nothing, but motorists were kind. A lot of RVs and adventure vans.

I stopped for fresh Cherry pie and coffee along my travels, besides that nothing to eat.   I know Doug I should have gotten something to carry in Two Harbors.  (Doug, the Warmshowers Host from Duluth warned me.). I skipped Silver Bay because I was running later than I wanted after stopping so much.

I reached the state park and got the last spot.   If you've never been here, this place is on top of a buff.  Nice up hill campground!  Anyway, I road back down the hill to the park store just in time before the shut their doors; so got a couple subs, drinks, and FUDGE.  Oh I got an ice cream and almost forgot about it!!! I got it down on the climb back up to my overnight.

Heart 2 Comment 0

Service is very bad here so I'll try to update this with pictures tomorrow.  Got them to post, but the order is off - oh well.

Goodnite!

Closing out the day with. A campfire....GEM
Heart 3 Comment 0

Boy, the stars are out hig above my fire and the tree tops....wow wow wow!!!  

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 753 miles (1,212 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0