Day 3 - Raccine WI - Viking Quest ~ 2023 - CycleBlaze

Day 3 - Raccine WI

Day 3 - 66 degrees - after a great cool evening with a campfire, I woke up to this....

Don't usually see sunrises because I sleep in....need to fix that. (View from my Naval Station Campground).
Heart 10 Comment 4
Jeanna & Kerry SmithGorgeous picture, Keith!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Kathy AtkinsPictures are really pretty. Love the sunset!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Keith A. SpanglerTo Kitty LipsettThank you. I shot with my better camera too, can’t wait to edit them. I’ve been mainly the phone to document my trip, it is easier. When something special comes out then use the camera😎
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

The day started out a little crazy with the Garmin locking up when trying to navigate.  I changed to the phone that had a little issue, but proved vital once it connected to the route.   

Trails Trails and more Trails....paved and hard packed, kept me feeling comfy.

People have been great and friendly....two women sitting in the patio even blew me a kiss (well I blew them one first.)

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

Found an Oasis while in Kenosha ....

Food, water w/ice, eggs and kindness all in one...
Heart 5 Comment 0
GEM - yesterday I didn't eat until after 6 pm, that wasn't going to happen today...even had honey for my coffee!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

Well, I decided, after stopping for cherries and shade at Aldi's to stay overnight at the Cliffside Campground - a county-owned GEM.  Hilton-style showers, firewood, shade and electric.  (Still gathering sun via solar too.)

A note about GEM - I've learned as others have to never pass by a GEM because you may not see anymore ahead.   

Today, I was thinking of doing 65, but I had no where picked to go.  The guy at the camp told me it was all trail, but little to No thrills ahead.   That was all I needed to hear.  Some may laugh which is ok, I'm comfy, clean and relaxing.

So the plan will be to to sail with "Ingvar" to my today's destination on Day 4.  Stop for a dip in a pool and onto to a Bike Shop hopefully for overnight in the Town of Ottawa.

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 89 miles (143 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Keith A. SpanglerThanks Dan….thought of you when I saw that sun peeping over the horizon
Reply to this comment
8 months ago