Day 2 - Lakes IL - Viking Quest ~ 2023 - CycleBlaze

Day 2 - Lakes IL

Chicago to Great Lakes Naval Station

Day 2 Cycling - what is it with all these Day 2s.  Well, it was a long day of train and then cycling so....

After getting the bike off Amtrak and reorganizing stuff for riding I was off.  The city of Chicago (the windy city) is beautiful.  I wanted to stay really. Started shooting Street Photos before realizing I better get on my way.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

The Windy City welcomed me and Ingvar (my traveling figure head) with rain threatening clouds and strong 25 mph gusts off the Lake!

Heart 6 Comment 0

The beaches were empty, but the Guards were on duty.

Solid 47 A lot of paved trails and bikeways and city roads. Beautiful
Heart 2 Comment 0

The winds slowed a lot as I moved north and the sun came out. It was perfect.  I spent some time passing though wealthy artist towns and through a University that sat right on the lake.  

My GEM today was meeting Nichalos Barron the Artist guy.

He was painting abstract art outside on the wall of his corner studio.  I had to stop and chat and I did (30 plus minutes).

We traded stories as he painted a colorful work of art!

Heart 3 Comment 2
Daniel SpanglerCool lighting here man.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Keith A. SpanglerThanks I was so so glad I turned around and met him. He had a NOLA shirt on, said it lives it there.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
This was not Nichalos’ but found down the street somewhere. Cool right!
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 1
Kathy AtkinsLove all the pictures.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

I'll had more later.  Sitting at my campsite at the Great Lakes Naval Station now - reflecting!

Today's ride: 47 miles (76 km)
Total: 47 miles (76 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Daniel SpanglerA GEM indeed.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago